We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff/ Corner cutting policy ownership”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Eage Rock, MO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent staff/ Corner cutting policy ownership”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

From the very first call the staff, even the new girl and management at check in, worked professionally, and diligently to accommodate our needs. However, once in the room we saw many cost cutting issues. One waste basket throughout the entire room, usually one in restroom and one, or more in main living area. The table, which is normally positioned for reading, writing, and Wi-Fi use was positioned such that, the only outlet with which to plug in ones' laptop was behind the television which honestly already had a 3 plug wall extension outlet. No other outlets except across the room. With the TV, and lamp already plugged in, my laptop was loose in a dated plug and ended up running on the battery. All the while I assumed that the "Close to overloaded plug outlet" was providing 110volts. I had to keep jiggling the plug to my laptop in order to charge and run my computer. A new outlet will set them back roughly one dollar. I kept focusing on the free outlet by the window which, would have provided ample supply for charging and running my business, and wondering; "Why could they not have simply positioned the table under that window, and used that 'unused' outlet as a dedicated source of power for a laptop and a phone charger?

My next issue was with the luggage stand. Every hotel I have EVER stayed in had at least one luggage stand with which to place a suitcase. After placing our suitcases on the floors and beds I did find one in a small closet, which frankly, would have satisfied me to have found it, even under the window that should have housed the table for my Wi-Fi connection.

Finally, I am a smoker. This is a disgusting habit, and so I try to be as courteous as possible. I take it outside where I will not offend non smokers. There is no designated smoking area, and worse, there is not one humane way to dispose of a cigarette except to simply throw it on the ground outside the door by the trash. We stayed in Chamberlain, SD last night, and the BW there Lee's offered chairs, and ash trays for those of us who wish to smoke.

Cutting costs can be achieved through better "Back End" savings, i.e.; negotiate pricing with suppliers, and tax loopholes, rather than passing on higher revenue generation by directly affecting clientele.

1. Place a wastebasket in each bathroom, and a minimum of one more in the bedding/living area.
2. Place luggage stand in living areas. Do not hide them in the closets. Present convenience!
3. Designate smoking areas, then provide disposal for cigarette waste. Believe it or not, smokers are not always inconsiderate people! We too would like for others to appreciate our effort to show manners!
4. Study each room as though YOU were going to stay there, and needed the safe, and convenient ability to charge and power up a laptop and cellphone. Don't make me struggle to find a way to spend the night through survival, but rather convenience!

Room Tip: This hotel has, not only the potential to be 'A' place to stay but "The" place to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
36dodge, Manager at Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to write a review on our property. It takes feedback from customers such as your self to make us better. We will be looking at all of your suggestions and hope we can make it a better stay for the next guest, as we always strive to be our best. Again, thank you and we hope the next time you are in Custer you will give a the opportunity to make it a better stay for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    154
    116
    38
    17
See reviews for
209
165
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orting, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a larger family suite that was set apart from the main building. I am not sure which section was newer or if they were built at the same time. The room itself was old. It was noticeable in the bathroom, which leads me to the biggest fault of the room. There was no fan in the bathroom making the room very humid after showering. Even if the window was open it was humid and hot. There were 2 tv's in the room which was nice. The hotel was conveniently located in a good part of town. I walked to downtown which was about a half mile. The pool area was nice, open until 11:00. Breakfast was good. the normal, sausage, eggs, waffles. etc.

When we checked in it was interesting that they had only one person working. She was doing the best she could but with a full hotel on a Saturday night she was a bit overwhelmed. I would hope this is not a normal occurrence not just from a customer service standpoint but also a safety standpoint. She was having to check people in and deliver items by herself to rooms, certainly not a good situation for a young lady to have to be in.

Another nice thing was a motorcycle cleaning station between the buildings.

Finally, as far as drive times go.
Jewel Caves - 15 minutes
Wind Caves - 25
Mt. Rushmore - 45
Iron Highway 35
Norbeck Visitor Center - 30
Wildlife Loop (East Side) - 35

Hit the caves in the morning - they tours sell out.
Wildlife loop in the morning or evening
Rushmore - Lighting ceremony 9:00 p.m.
Crazy Horse - Laser show between 9:00 and 9:30

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wxwatcher49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
36dodge, Manager at Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Custer. We are sorry that the bathroom did not meet your expectations. We typically always have two clerks on in the evening, unfortunetely we were a little short handed that day. Again, sorry and hope this does not deter you from staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kogarah, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

After driving all day we were happy to have a place to rest our weary bodies. Checked in and received a room on the second floor (requested room on the first floor - but at least it was a room). Up the open-air stairs to the room - as we traversed to our room there were several people outside on the open-air deck smoking. We booked a Non-Smoking room and when we complained to the management we were told that the rooms are Non-Smoking; however, they could not control what people did directly in front of our room door or in the general area of the pathway to our room. Management seemed to have zero concern for the health and welfare of our family - who wants to walk through cigarette smoke to get to their room and have the smell of acrid smoke filter into their room - Not me or my family. Secondly we were told two queen beds with microwave - what we got was two standard without amenities (no microwave). We went to the office where the "Continental" breakfast is served and to our surprise there was no microwave available to the "public". We had budgeted to make our own meals in the room using microwavable foods - we had to make alternative food plans. The only pro for this place was the swimming area was appropriate for our young children and was easily accessible. The breakfast was Mediocre at best and if you don't get there early (0630-0745 AM) you are only served with what is left over even though the brekki is supposedly served 0630-0900. If you are single or not expecting much this place will suffice - If you are a family of 7 it would be a Poor choice. We cancelled the rest of our reservation after checking in and finding the short comings of the booking. Lastly management charged us for the entire stay upon check-in without notification to us - their explanation was they did not charge us they only placed a "hold" for the charges. The next morning when we checked out they charged additional fees for the nights stay. We basically got overcharged triple for the room with an explanation that funds on "hold" will be released in 2-5 business days. If we had only the monies in the bank to pay for strict calculation of expenses we would have been stranded in this place. Thankfully we had reserves; however, that doesn't take the disappointment and frustrations out of staying the night. The next Hotel that we booked was totally different in their approach and seemed to appreciate our stay with them - from the moment we checked in until the time we checked out we felt welcomed and accommodated.

Room Tip: Rooms say Non-Smoking although people smoke directly outside of the room doors on the open-air decki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
36dodge, Manager at Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Custer. Very sorry to hear that you had a dissapointing stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us and we will be taking every step to make sure this does not happen again. Hope this did not deter you from staying with us in the future, as we would he happy for another opportunity to make your stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Location was terrific for day trips around the area to MT Rushmore, Crazy Horse memorial (5 minute drive) , Custer Natl Park, etc.
My upstairs room was comfortable and suprisingly quiet.
I never heard a door slam, voices, etc. Had a mini fridge, and microwave
While any hotel personnel I came in contact with were always
eager to assist, even a new trainee asked for assistance
to answer a question.
Clay on the front desk is definitely an asset
to their staff; courteous, professional, polished, knowledgeable.
During my 3 day stay he always greeted you with a
willing smile, and when asked, his advice, suggestions and directions for time and distance, were spot on. Even my maid Ohran (sp?)who I never met,
left me a note with her name, and a wish to enjoy my stay.
Also the complimentary breakfast was a plus; amply stocked for the
large crowd staying at the hotel over the 4th of July 2013. Plenty of
tables and chairs to accomdate guests.
It is about a mile to trek into town on foot, but would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbB2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
36dodge, Manager at Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to write a review on our property. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you the next time you are in the Custer area. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Wing, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great room, bed was very comfortable, breakfast was very good as well. Was centrally located Staff went out of the way to meet our needs. Heather was great.Mini golf was across the street and was a great way to relax after a day of sight seeing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
36dodge, Manager at Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Custer and taking the time to fill out a review on our property. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Also, nice to hear that our staff is doing there job as well. Look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is a bit dated and is more of a motel than hotel. Rooms are accessed from the outside, not an interior hallway. The rooms are small (very small) but clean. They did have a few smoking rooms available. For the money, I was disappointed. I expected more from a Best Western.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
36dodge, Manager at Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Custer. Sorry to hear that your accomodations did not meet your expectations. It takes feedback from customers such as yourself to make us better. Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback on our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
12.1 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#15 of 17 in Custer
170 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn

Property: Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn
Address: 310 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buffalo Ridge Hotel Custer
Best Western Custer
Custer Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing