We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay, Fresh clean rooms!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay, Fresh clean rooms!!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Had a great time in Custer staying at Buffalo Ridge Inn. Our room was fresh looking and very clean! Very impressed with all the updates they have done! The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
36dodge, Manager at Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your time in Custer. Glad that the room met your expectations and nice to hear that our staff did there job! Hope to see you the next time you are in the Custer area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    135
    112
    35
    17
See reviews for
174
155
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed for one night while visiting Mt Rushmore. The staff were friendly on arrival. We found it to be in a great location and easy to find. Got a smoking room as it was cheaper. It did smell heavily of smoke but that was to be expected. Full selection of tv channels on a reasonably sized tv. Had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was a standard continental breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhys H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
36dodge, Manager at Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us in Custer. Its always nice to hear that our staff is accomodating our guests. Sorry that the smoke in the room was heavy, we will work harder on freshening all smoking rooms. Hope to see you the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I recently spent 4 nights at this motel and came away very satisfied with the front desk personnel who really went the extra mile for me. I requested an overstuffed chair be moved into my room for the duration of my stay as straight back chairs are very hard on my back and after 8 or more hours traipsing around the outdoors I am ready to relax in my room and a comfortable chair is a must. Mike made it happen. The housekeeping was really great. Each day I came back to a clean, fresh room. Kudos to Heather and Joy for their customer focus!

Room Tip: Be upfront about what you want as well as what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
36dodge, Manager at Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our Hotel. Its customers like you that make us feel as though we are doing our job. Any time an employee goes above and beyond, it gives us pride knowing all the training is very useful. We are very please that we met your expectations and provided you with a clean and comfortable room. We really hope to see you the next time you are in the Custer area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I took a very large group of older adults to the Black Hills last fall and had a superb stay at the Best Western. The manager, Joy Knight, was most attentive to our needs prior to our arrival and from the moment we actually arrived. Some members of the group needed ground floor access -- not a problem; some needed a larger room - everyone sited as requested; also I asked her to obtain gift baskets from a local store -- all accomplished according to plan. The front desk staff were warm and welcoming throughout. The rooms themselves were clean, spacious and airy. I would have sent in these comments earlier but have had computer glitches every time I tried to send them. The only thing I might have liked better was that the hotel was a bit nearer the town center, but it was definitely within walking distance and what we lost in distance we gained in quietness. I would definitely return on a subsequent trip whether with a group again or solo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAGLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
36dodge, Manager at Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western in Custer. We are very happy to hear that you had a nice stay. It is always nice to hear that our staff goes above and beyond when called on. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel and we certainly look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Although situated at the end of the "strip", Custer is only a one road town so to speak. It is only 20 minutes walk from the other end of town! Good location, nice pool and breakfast was included for us. The room was large clean and a great King Size bed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here while travelling around and of the various best westerns we stayed at during the trip this one was more in need of a make over. I hadn't read reviews before we turned up here but I had no complaints with the cleanliness, but it isn't as good value for money as other places we've stayed. Breakfast is much the same as any other motel, pastries and coffee.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mand13Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in the two room suite during the Labor Day weekend. Room smelled bad , noise from the equipment room kept me up late. Tub had black deposits in the bottom, towels were grey, not white. Don't they know how to use bleach?? Friends of ours stayed in another single room, tub and towels were the same. Don't stay here unless you don't care if you get some type of foot fungus. Food for breakfast was stale and tough.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Custer hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
12.1 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.4 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn

Property: Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn
Address: 310 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Buffalo Ridge Hotel Custer
Best Western Custer
Custer Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing