We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and peaceful”
Review of The Roost Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Roost Resort
Ranked #12 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This resort is just off a busy road leading to Custer state park. It is in the center of every place we wanted to be. The cabin is small but comfortable for two people. The beds are soft and comfortable. It was very quiet and peaceful. There were a few other guest but you could not hear them. There is a refridgerator, 2 burner gas stove, microwave, & coffee pot. There are dishes to use and a sink. Full bathroom. Outside is a grill, wooden chairs and picnic tables. There is also a fire pit. Every morning and every night there is wildlife that visits the yard. The owners are very nice and attempt to answer your questions and give you information. The cost was only $69/night. I would recommend this resort to anyone wanting to stay in the Custer area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudyandDeodis82513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 67 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

We loved the Roost. The cabins were clean and cozy. The beds were comfortable, with nice linens. The location inCuster is great as a base to make day trips into the Black Hills area. We enjoyed how the resort is set back off the road and the visits from a small deer herd in the common area. Frank and Susan are great hosts and the cabins are well priced.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank cltutell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The is the perfect place to stay in the Black Hills. Custer is beautiful and so much to do. Frank and Susan have a great place. We have stayed in many of the cabins and just love this place. We have had many friends stay and they all love it. I highly recommend this place to anyone. Good price, location and great owners.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MidwestBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights and had a fantastic time, frank and Susan who run the place are awesome people they were more than happy to answer any questions we had about the area!
The cabin it self was great the perfect size for me my husband and our two children, it had everything we needed. The boys loved climbing on the rocks just behind the cabin and playing on the swings.
If we ever return to South Dakota for a holiday we would stay here again, it's the perfect location it was central to pretty much everything we did. We would highly recommend a stay here!!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank 4lovetotravel4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed in cabin #5 for two nights while visiting the Black Hills. The cabin is reasonably spacious for two, and was very well equipped with fridge, microwave, stoves, and a shower (plenty of hot water and good water pressure). The location is pretty much ideal: it is only 5' away from 'downtown' Custer, 20' away from Mt Rushmore, ~10' away from Crazy Horse Memorial, and 20' or so from Needles Highway/Wildlife Loop/Wind Cave NP. In other words, you're in the middle of everything.
The owners are lovely, and do take very good care of their property. Everything was spotless - they're also very knowledgeable. The first night we were there, they told us about the blasts at the Crazy Horse memorial. We would have completely missed otherwise!
Every evening, we were welcome by a few deer, happily hanging out outside our cabin... other customers were very respectful, and the overall noise was very low.
Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Genetics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had a nice stay in cabin #9, which is one of the family cabins. Our girls loved their sleeping loft (it may have been the highlight of their vacation). There was a separate bedroom for us. The cabin had huge boulders on either side which made it seem more private and the kids loved climbing on them and pretending to be mountain climbers. There was a meadow nearby that must have had around 50 mule deer grazing. It is very conveniently located to the cute town of Custer. It's also right in the center of all the other attractions. The cabin was incredibly clean and the owners were very friendly. My only complaints are that the mattress in the back bedroom was a bit saggy in the middle and that the water quality was terrible (cloudy & stinky). Those complaints would not keep me from returning though. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IowaGirl-in-Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We've enjoyed staying in The Roost's cabins a few times now, most recently Labor Day weekend 2012. We had a cabin with two double beds, a kitchenette and a bathroom. It was small but very clean. The beds are very comfortable. Having the kitchenette, especially the larger than usual refrigerator, was very helpful. Being able to park and load/unload right outside our door made unpacking and packing easy.

They are in a great location, between the town of Custer and Custer State Park. Very quiet especially at night. We enjoyed watching wild turkeys and deer in front of our cabin. My only minor complaint is I wish there was a good playground or other kid-friendly activities available. It would be wonderful for the kids to be able to go play in the evening while mom & dad make dinner. If The Roost had some kid-friendly things to do I'd gladly rate it a 5-star!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gypsymamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Custer hotels
2.2 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
2.6 mi away
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
2 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#2 of 18 in Custer
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Custer
Days Inn Custer
#18 of 18 in Custer
269 reviews
6.1 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#13 of 18 in Custer
36 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roost Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roost Resort

Address: 12462 US Highway 16a, Custer, SD 57730-8357
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing