We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in town”

Baker's Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #2 of 3 Dessert in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Baker's Bakery is a family friendly Cafe style restaurant that serves full breakfast and lunch, donuts, pastries, and espresso. Most everything is served on or with homemade bread. You'll Love Our Buns! Our hours of operation vary:Summer hours: Monday-Sunday 6:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.Fall/Winter hours: Tuesday-Sunday 6:30 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.January and February closed
Winters, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best food in town”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Only if you want the freshest and best home cooked meal in town. Breakfast is a must. Cooked to your liking with all the fixings and fresh baked bread/ toast. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    462
    202
    62
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
2 reviews
“fantastic”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently took a wonderful vacation to Colorado, Wyoming and the South Dakota area. While staying in Custer State Park we self-toured Custer City. What a terrific find when we stopped into Baker's Bakery & Cafe on Rushmore Road. The food was just wonderful....just like you would expect from your family kitchen (only better). The service was very efficient and friendly, and clean. The added bonus came when we stopped in the next day and ordered lattes. We are coffee "fanatics" --having recently sold our own espresso cafe-- and we discovered how really good their coffee was. We cannot recommend this delightful cafe enough! If your are in the area be sure to stop in.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank virginia a s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsbluff, Nebraska
2 reviews
“Turnover deliciousness”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stopped here in the morning for a sweet roll and coffee. The wait staff was prompt, friendly, and efficient. I loved my cherry turnover!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
594 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“HUGE breakfast”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

What a fun and great place. The breakfasts are huge and mine was great. Scrambled eggs, toast, perfect bacon and hash browns. What a start for a day of hiking Harney Peak.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ScottyG777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
674 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
“Breakfast was fine”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband enjoyed his breakfast - it was typical breakfast fare. I couldn't bypass the cinnamon rolls on display so decided to get one to split. My spouse liked it. I prefer the heavy, bready kind my Mom makes (sort of like Cinnabon). These cinnamon rolls are light & fluffy. So, if you like light, fluffy cinnamon rolls, don't pass these up.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hola4876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baker's Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing