We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun retro style, good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocket Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rocket Motel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
86 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Fun retro style, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

I liked the atmosphere here. The outside is very retro and colourful. The rooms are really well cared for and reasonably sized. It was fairly pricey but we were there in the middle of summer, just before the bike rally, so it wasn't too bad. It was great chatting to some of the bikers that were staying there en route to Sturgis. The hotel is within walking distance of many bars, restaurants and shops. It is literally on the main street. There was a lightning strike just behind the hotel on our first day and the power went out. The owner was very quick to come round and explain when the power was due back on. A nice touch is the complimentary hot drinks in the little lobby.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonKazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    138
    25
    8
    1
See reviews for
164
196
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

Stayed here in a recent trip to Custer State park. The motel is located "downtown". It was clean and very well maintained. Owners present. Price was reasonable. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andre2p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

My wife and I spent three nights at the Rocket while mtn biking the Mickelson trail. The motel is nicely located and just one block from the trail! The rooms are a bit small but they are as clean and tidy as any overpriced chain hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. This is a definite must-stay if visiting the Custer area. Keep up the good work and long live the independant inn keepers!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoCoVans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

We found the Rocket to be a clean, well maintained small motel. It was typical of mom and pop motels, quaint, clean and comfortable. The rooms were on the small side but not overly. Well equipped with refrigerators and microwaves. A number of shops and restaurants are in walking distance and the major attractions are conveniently located for day trips. This is definitely a good choice for visiting the area around Custer.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snugdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

Loved the Rocket. Clean and comfy. Excellent value for money. Can't ask for more than that. Location ideal. Short drive to numerous attractions.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cm_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

We spent two wonderful nights at the Rocket Motel in Custer, SD on our way to Yellowstone. The motel was very clean and the beds were soft and comfortable. The owners were very nice and friendly. For the price, it was a great place to rest up after a full day of siteseeing. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Level Contributor
105 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

We have just spent 4 nights from August 12th to August16th at the Rocket Motel in Custer (SD), and I would like to complain about the price we had to pay for this reservation. The price was around 159 $ per night (637 $ for 4 nights). The quality of the hotel was really basic; we had a small family bedroom with 1 queen bed, and 2 double beds in two very small rooms. The bedroom was clean but very small and tiny. The Bathroom was reduced to a single shower, and the complementary things were reduced to a Wifi connection and a few bars of soap on the first day. There was no pool, no iron, no coffee maker, no breakfast included etc… For this category of price, we should have expected higher standards. We are really upset about this reservation. We come to the US every year and this is the first time we ever had this kind of situation.
Moreover, the entire reservation had to be paid in advance, so it was not possible for us to cancel the room after one night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dudu59242Templeuve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rocketmotel, Owner at Rocket Motel, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
I'm sorry you were not happy with your stay. We were unaware that in four days of staying with us that you were unhappy. If we would of known we would have done something about it. Your stay was during the sturgis rally and prices are higher everywhere. Again we apologize but we can not fix problems we were not aware of. Thank you, God Bless , Don & Brenda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
4.2 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
0.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#3 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocket Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocket Motel

Property: Rocket Motel
Address: 211 Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Custer
#1 Romantic Hotel in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rocket Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American Family owned motel. Non-smoking. Pet friendly (designated rooms). Offering Cable TV, Wireless Internet, Coffee and tea in office, Refrigerators, Microwaves, hairdryers,and Serta double Pillow top beds. Kitchenette, Kings, 2 bedroom family units, 1 king suite available. Covered Pavilion, gas grill and fire pit for our guests use. Available for meetings, family reunions or just picnics. We have added a 4-man jacuzzi this year. One story, at-door parking. 8 Restaurants giving our guests 10% off all their meals while at the Rocket. Shops and downtown just a skip away. Michelson Trail across the street. Please remember that you're staying at a 1950's Motel, the rooms and showers are a tad smaller, but the charm is enormous!! We look forward to serving all vacation needs. Thank you, God Bless, Don and Brenda ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rocket Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocket Hotel Custer
Rocket Motel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing