We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, reasonably priced motel”
Review of Rocket Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rocket Motel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2007

The Rocket Motel is a great place to stay for the budget-conscious traveler in the Black Hills. My family of 4 stayed in a room with 2 double beds, at a rate lower than anywhere else we could find.

The room was small, but very neatly kept. They recently upgraded to new, pillow-top mattresses, and they are fantastic. They also offer some larger "family" floor plans that we didn't see from the inside, but you could obviously tell from the outside that they were considerably larger than the standard rooms.

We didn't have any special needs, but the front desk was friendly and helpful throughout our stay. They don't have any type of breakfast, but you can grab a cup of coffee in the office before you head out for the day.

While we were out there, it didn't look like reservations were completely necessary because there was a vacancy posted every afternoon, but by nightfall there were no rooms left. As the tourist season picks up, I would expect reservations to become necessary.

Don't miss out on this very nice, and reasonably priced, motel that is centrally located in the Black Hills.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank univac528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

563 - 569 of 573 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2006

Once again we were pleased on how immaculate our motel room was. We stayed in room two, this has a small kitchenette, bare bone basics though. Two full size beds and they were quite comfy. Everything was so clean, and we loved the nostalgic air that was part of the Rocket motels charm.
This room had two seperate rooms and the bathroom was in the middle. Just a shower but that was fine.
The lady who was in charge was very accomadating and so very nice! Say hello to her assistants (a duo that consists of a dog and cat who just add to the charm of this motel). The price was reasonable and we liked our rooms and everything was a quick walk away if we wanted to leave the car behind.
This motel sparkled, it truly was clean! I am so picky being military Lord knows we have stayed in motels and hotels that needed a few strokes of a cleaning brush but not this motel.
We would stay here again, and we plan on it next year when we go back to the area.

24  Thank OrnerytoYOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank VicksMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank quenbama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bobmarseille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lele s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Custer hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
4.2 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#13 of 18 in Custer
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
0.4 mi away
Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocket Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocket Motel

Address: 211 Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Custer
#1 Romantic Hotel in Custer
Price Range: $68 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rocket Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American Family owned motel. Non-smoking. Pet friendly (designated rooms). Offering Cable TV, Wireless Internet, Coffee and tea in office, Refrigerators, Microwaves, hairdryers,and Serta double Pillow top beds. Kitchenette, Kings, 2 bedroom family units, 1 king suite available. Covered Pavilion, gas grill and fire pit for our guests use. Available for meetings, family reunions or just picnics. We have added a 4-man jacuzzi this year. One story, at-door parking. 8 Restaurants giving our guests 10% off all their meals while at the Rocket. Shops and downtown just a skip away. Michelson Trail across the street. Please remember that you're staying at a 1950's Motel, the rooms and showers are a tad smaller, but the charm is enormous!! We look forward to serving all vacation needs. Thank you, God Bless, Don and Brenda ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Rocket Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocket Hotel Custer
Rocket Motel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing