We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”
Review of Rocket Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rocket Motel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Rooms were clean, beds comfortable.Staff excellent and helpful. Parking outside the door. Only downside was rooms and bathroom are a little small but I guess all part of the attraction.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123lotstosee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

522 - 528 of 573 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2010

Rocket Motel is one of the few hotels in this area with reasonable prices in high season. Single queen room is small, but clean and cozy. The best of Rocket Motel is its location, in the heart of the lovely village of Custer, with restaurants and shops at walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yerun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in May on our road trip and were really happy with the Rocket. As said by many posts already the rooms are compact but adequate and most important extremely clean.
The bathroom in our room was also compact with shower tray only and many of the plumbing features appeared to be original which gave it a nice retro feel but also resulted in more careful adjustments to shower .
The bed was extremely comfortable & bed linen of good quality.The Rocket Motel is quite central in Custer and there are many restaurants within walking distance and a Dollar store directly across the road for essentials.
Custer itself is a great central destination for visiting Custer state park,Mount Rushmore,Crazy Horse & the many other attractions in this area and even though there are many hotels in the town it doesnt have that fake tourist feel to it.
The Rocket is a good genuine well run motel & its very hard to beat reversing your car to within 3 feet of your accomodation to offload luggage.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zena1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed here one night. We got the family room because we were traveling with my mother. The room was very clean, but somewhat cramped. Was glad to have a microwave and refrigerator though. The parking was on a pretty good slope so it was a bit hard for my mom and I who have knee problems to get in and out of the pickup. But the service was great, and friendly and the price was right.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bensonbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

I really value the care that the owners of the Rocket Motel put into their property. For a classic old motel/motor inn, everything is fresh and clean while retaining all the charm of the original 50's bones. The bed is wonderful, the bathroom (even the original tiles) is in great shape and nothing smells. Room 33 is a single queen room and is a little tight between the bed foot and the tv cabinet. No big deal, but a flat screen on the wall would help out the situation. The price might be a little higher than other motels in the area, but I have absolutely no problem paying a bit more for this kind of motel charm and comfort. It is still a great value. I wish I could pack it up and take it with me to my next location.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kern2d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Our room was small, but it is an old motel so we accepted that, plus we were out all day so it didn't matter much!. As said by others, the owner's are fantastic. So helpful & friendly. It was a shame we had to move on with our trip & leave.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

When we came, we planned on just staying one night. Shortly after checking in, we decided to stay a second night. I was reminded why independent hotels/motels are so great - the owner is there and cares. This is the case here. The owner-couple are amazingly friendly and helpful. While staying here, I couldn't help but think 'this is how it must have been when my grandparents travelled across the nation'.
Very charming, comfortable, and retro!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itisdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Custer hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.3 mi away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#15 of 18 in Custer
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.4 mi away
Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocket Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocket Motel

Address: 211 Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Custer
#1 Romantic Hotel in Custer
Price Range: $68 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rocket Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American Family owned motel. Non-smoking. Pet friendly (designated rooms). Offering Cable TV, Wireless Internet, Coffee and tea in office, Refrigerators, Microwaves, hairdryers,and Serta double Pillow top beds. Kitchenette, Kings, 2 bedroom family units, 1 king suite available. Covered Pavilion, gas grill and fire pit for our guests use. Available for meetings, family reunions or just picnics. We have added a 4-man jacuzzi this year. One story, at-door parking. 8 Restaurants giving our guests 10% off all their meals while at the Rocket. Shops and downtown just a skip away. Michelson Trail across the street. Please remember that you're staying at a 1950's Motel, the rooms and showers are a tad smaller, but the charm is enormous!! We look forward to serving all vacation needs. Thank you, God Bless, Don and Brenda ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Rocket Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocket Hotel Custer
Rocket Motel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing