We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, nice staff”
Review of Rocket Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rocket Motel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
california
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good value, nice staff”
Reviewed July 21, 2009

We stayed only one night, but it was clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff person (manager, owner?) was very nice and helpful. The price was reasonable and I would recommend this to anyone looking for a basic clean motel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sangredulce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    147
    27
    9
    1
See reviews for
173
207
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

This is a small roadside motel that is clean and well-run. Definitely not a chain hotel, and things can get a little tight, but cleanliness, comfortable beds and a good smell go a long way toward smoothing everything over. Brand new microwave and mini fridge. Very good wireless internet. Negatives: the A/C is a bit loud (but very cold), the windows don't open, a little hard to find a spare electrical outlet, could use a few more surfaces to set things on.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linden, texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

great room. excecptionally clean w/ nice carpet. an older motel, that was a great value. only had shower, no tub. that was the only disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigertech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

This place was much like everyone said. When we arrived, they even gave my mom an additional senior discount over the AAA discount they'd quoted me. The only negative would be the inability to book online, but I emailed the desk and got a very quick response.

No coffee maker in room - kind of a downer, but coffee in office; no half and half. We had family room.

Do not eat at place across the street - place mischarged us, couldn't back off the charge, then made poor waiter pay us out of his pocket. The place hires foreign students who probably wind up owing the creepy manager. Fairly spendy for the ordinary food - should have gone to Dairy Queen.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KWalkerTexasRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, KS
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2009

We ride motorcycles...running from KS to Devil's Tower and everything in between. We spent 3 days here and took day trips out and then on north. The beds in this motel are the best you can get. I might just have to get one for home. Management was very accomodating....excellent service. I would recommend this to my family. The place is great. The laundry across the street was pretty good too...clean. Thanks Rocket Motel. We'll see you again some time.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whatifanew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2008

This is not my first time to stay at the Rocket. The lady at the front desk "Glenda" was super nice, very helpful in every way. We found great dinning close by. The rooms we very clean and the beds were very comfortable.

  • Liked — Service, cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacations949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2008

We found this to be a small, very clean and comfortable motel. We had a good stay there and the main thing we wanted to comment on was that the manager was very kind to us when one of us accidentally broke off the ceramic soap dish in the shower during a freak stumble (somehow there was no injury). We weren't sure if we would be liable but she was very gracious and didn't charge us anything. That was such a relief. Also, we found that a place like this was a nice change from the big chains. Plus the price was great.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danjhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
11.9 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
32 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.1 mi away
Chief Motel
Chief Motel
#9 of 17 in Custer
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocket Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocket Motel

Property: Rocket Motel
Address: 211 Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Custer
#1 Romantic Hotel in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rocket Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American Family owned motel. Non-smoking. Pet friendly (designated rooms). Offering Cable TV, Wireless Internet, Coffee and tea in office, Refrigerators, Microwaves, hairdryers,and Serta double Pillow top beds. Kitchenette, Kings, 2 bedroom family units, 1 king suite available. Covered Pavilion, gas grill and fire pit for our guests use. Available for meetings, family reunions or just picnics. We have added a 4-man jacuzzi this year. One story, at-door parking. 8 Restaurants giving our guests 10% off all their meals while at the Rocket. Shops and downtown just a skip away. Michelson Trail across the street. Please remember that you're staying at a 1950's Motel, the rooms and showers are a tad smaller, but the charm is enormous!! We look forward to serving all vacation needs. Thank you, God Bless, Don and Brenda ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Rocket Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocket Hotel Custer
Rocket Motel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing