We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, but the shower was a little low.”
Review of Rocket Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rocket Motel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice room, but the shower was a little low.”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We booked this room based on user reviews, and basically it was a great little hotel. The beds were comfortable, it was quiet, it was clean, the price was right. If you are looking for a Hilton or Marriot, this is obviously not the place for you. But if you are looking for a nice, cheap place to stay while you enjoy the Black Hills, this is great choice. The only problem we had was with the shower. I'm short and the shower was just about to short for me, I could barely get my head under it to wash my hair. There was no tub, which was fine. The other minor thing was that we had to leave the light on in the bathroom to charge our cell phones at night. Again, not a big deal, it didn't disturb our sleep at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    143
    27
    9
    1
See reviews for
171
200
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Nice clean rooms, the softest towels I have ever had in a hotel/Motel. Location was very good, easy walk to most of the town. Check in and out was fast and efficient. Would stay here each and every time we visit this area

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattapoisett, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you are looking nice clean simple room this is it. I was very happy with the room, service and location couldnt ask for anything better. I would stay here again. It is close to everything in the Black Hills, about an hour from Rapid City and right outside Custer State Park.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fletch80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Normally I wouldn't stay at these mom and pop places. However, I started using trip advisor a couple years ago. So glad I have. I travel for work. This place is great. The rooms are small and cozy. I stayed in a single and it's big enough for me. The bed is very comfortable. Big tv. Microwave and fridge. Check in was easy. She gave us coupon list for 10 percent off at different places to eat.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elephantabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Having looked around Custer I would have to say the Rocket is probably the best bang for the buck. Retro and nicely done but rooms are very small. Love the walking distance to dining and grocery shopping. Also nice access to the Mickelson Trail. We had a problem with the shower--it would not shut off--but the owner responded immediately, fixed it and replenished our towels. If in Custer again I would return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judgefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I took the advice of my Tripadvisor friends and stayed here. They were right! This place is a Gem. It is a 50's style drive up motel, and decorated in the 50's style, BUT updated and classy. The rooms were immaculate, had a black/white theme, a micro wave and fridge. Bed was comfortable and the white spread looked brand new.
The people that own the place are down to earth and very helpful They suggested a great placce to eat and also gave me a 10% off coupon for several restaurants. Coffee was served all day long. And was not very expensive for such a nice place. Outside is also cute and had lots of flowers. Close to town, Custer park, and Crazy Horse.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
99 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Excellent motel with an excellent location: in the center of Custer. You’ll find the entry to the Custer Park at less than 4 miles.

The family room 5 is composed of two connecting rooms (no door between, unfortunately). Three excellent large beds, spotless, nice bathroom, good wifi, easy parking, ... And all of this for around $110 per night (high season).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Citrouille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
4.2 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.6 mi away
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocket Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocket Motel

Property: Rocket Motel
Address: 211 Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#1 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rocket Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American Family owned motel. Non-smoking. Pet friendly (designated rooms). Offering Cable TV, Wireless Internet, Coffee and tea in office, Refrigerators, Microwaves, hairdryers,and Serta double Pillow top beds. Kitchenette, Kings, 2 bedroom family units, 1 king suite available. Covered Pavilion, gas grill and fire pit for our guests use. Available for meetings, family reunions or just picnics. We have added a 4-man jacuzzi this year. One story, at-door parking. 8 Restaurants giving our guests 10% off all their meals while at the Rocket. Shops and downtown just a skip away. Michelson Trail across the street. Please remember that you're staying at a 1950's Motel, the rooms and showers are a tad smaller, but the charm is enormous!! We look forward to serving all vacation needs. Thank you, God Bless, Don and Brenda ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Rocket Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocket Hotel Custer
Rocket Motel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing