We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice trip back to the 50s”
Review of Rocket Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rocket Motel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We enjoyed our stay very much. The atmosphere was very authentic and the service great. It was a nice change on our road trip through South Dakota after our stay at hotels. We had booked a family room and a double room and can recommend both. There is no breakfast included, but you get 10 % off at some restaurants and at baker's bakery where we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (567)
There are newer reviews for Rocket Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 567 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2011

We were just looking for a not too pricey room to spend the night when we found the Rocket Motel. Our room was damn nice! It was very clean and had nice new beds and furniture and it smelled nice (other than lots of places in this price category).
The owners (an american couple) went OUT OF THEIR WAY to accommodate us in every possible way.
We slept good and were just sad that we couldn't stay longer.
But we will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cglaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

This was my second time I have stayed here. I stayed here in June 2009 for three days, the only reason I stayed was because of the name. How more retro can you get than the "Rocket Motel". When I decided to go on vacation to the Black Hills in June 2010, there was no doubt of where I was going to stay. Stayed my whole vacation at the Rocket Motel, six days, and never had a bad experience. Other reviews state the rooms as being a little small, they are, but what do except from a hotel that was built in the 50's. ( I think). The hotel is old, but very clean and comfortable. Close to a main highway, but when in your room traffic noise was very minimal. Close to downtown and within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants and saloons. That is what I wanted. Centrally located of all Black Hills sight-seeing areas. This motel is a must stay if you are ever in Custer. Owners were great and pleasant. Next time I visit the area I will surely stay at the "Rocket Motel". I love that name.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JiminMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

I liked the atmosphere here. The outside is very retro and colourful. The rooms are really well cared for and reasonably sized. It was fairly pricey but we were there in the middle of summer, just before the bike rally, so it wasn't too bad. It was great chatting to some of the bikers that were staying there en route to Sturgis. The hotel is within walking distance of many bars, restaurants and shops. It is literally on the main street. There was a lightning strike just behind the hotel on our first day and the power went out. The owner was very quick to come round and explain when the power was due back on. A nice touch is the complimentary hot drinks in the little lobby.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonKazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

Stayed here in a recent trip to Custer State park. The motel is located "downtown". It was clean and very well maintained. Owners present. Price was reasonable. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andre2p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

My wife and I spent three nights at the Rocket while mtn biking the Mickelson trail. The motel is nicely located and just one block from the trail! The rooms are a bit small but they are as clean and tidy as any overpriced chain hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. This is a definite must-stay if visiting the Custer area. Keep up the good work and long live the independant inn keepers!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoCoVans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We found the Rocket to be a clean, well maintained small motel. It was typical of mom and pop motels, quaint, clean and comfortable. The rooms were on the small side but not overly. Well equipped with refrigerators and microwaves. A number of shops and restaurants are in walking distance and the major attractions are conveniently located for day trips. This is definitely a good choice for visiting the area around Custer.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snugdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Custer hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.3 mi away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#15 of 18 in Custer
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Custer
Days Inn Custer
#17 of 18 in Custer
264 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.1 mi away
Chief Motel
Chief Motel
#11 of 18 in Custer
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocket Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocket Motel

Address: 211 Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#1 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range: $87 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rocket Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American Family owned motel. Non-smoking. Pet friendly (designated rooms). Offering Cable TV, Wireless Internet, Coffee and tea in office, Refrigerators, Microwaves, hairdryers,and Serta double Pillow top beds. Kitchenette, Kings, 2 bedroom family units, 1 king suite available. Covered Pavilion, gas grill and fire pit for our guests use. Available for meetings, family reunions or just picnics. We have added a 4-man jacuzzi this year. One story, at-door parking. 8 Restaurants giving our guests 10% off all their meals while at the Rocket. Shops and downtown just a skip away. Michelson Trail across the street. Please remember that you're staying at a 1950's Motel, the rooms and showers are a tad smaller, but the charm is enormous!! We look forward to serving all vacation needs. Thank you, God Bless, Don and Brenda ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Rocket Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocket Hotel Custer
Rocket Motel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing