We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The View is Terrific!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laughing Water Restaurant

Laughing Water Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 44 Restaurants in Custer
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Alamosa, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The View is Terrific!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

When visiting Crazy Horse, you are almost overwhelmed that there is so much to see. Crafts and artisans at work; a huge gift shop; everything to do with the Ziolkowski family; taking the tour bus to the base of the mountain and more. And then you realize you're hungry. It makes sense to visit their restaurant. We were on a bus trip and the restaurant wasn't full when we decided to eat. We were a party of two, and for whatever reason, we were asked to sit with 2 other women. Hey, that's fine. That happened to me long ago at a restaurant in Europe, and it's a great way to meet people. The women were with another tour, so we shared our experiences. My sandwich was tasty, the fries were great; the service friendly - we were not near the window, so the Crazy Horse Memorial was in the distance, but we'd gotten a good look from other viewing areas and were booked on the tour to the mountain after lunch. Considering the number of people they accommodate, our lunch was perfectly fine. I'm pretty easy to please with such an experience. We totally enjoyed Crazy Horse. Someone staying a shorter time at the Memorial might want to be seated closer to the large viewing window, but I recommend the tour to the mountain to truly get a good look.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jane_g_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    75
    40
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not good”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were visiting Crazy Horse so decided to eat dinner there.
We ordered the following dishes:
The blackened tuna - it was dry, overcooked and salty. Looked and tasted like it was a leftover from previous night and cooked twice over.
The buffalo steak - the meat was tough and overdone/dry. Very chewy.
The sirloin steak was over cooked although we ordered medium.
The buffalo stew with fry bread was decent. Probably the only dish that we thought was edible enough.
The salad bar was just ok.

Not likely to return for a second time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jkjldk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Decent meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Check out the all you can eat Indian taco lunch! 10 bucks well spent. Service was good and the if you get a window seat you can see Crazy Horse while you eat...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank teamberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

The food was OK, the menu pretty limited and the prices were a bit much. The fries were excellent. The service was fine.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank aauummm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, SD
Level Contributor
139 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good place for a reunion”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We attended a reunion at Laughing Water. Even though there were other reunions at the same time and we were near the main dining area, we felt as if we were in our own room. The food was buffet and was good for buffet although the chicken had too much black pepper in the coating. Dessert was an assortment of cakes, but they ran out of the most popular kind before our group even got to go to the dessert table. The bartender was excellent and even willing to go get non-alchoholic drinks. It was very difficult to get coffee or get the water refilled.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank phrogster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laughing Water Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Laughing Water Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing