We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By Far the Best Place to Stay in town”
Review of Rock Crest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rock Crest Lodge
Ranked #9 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Got lucky and had been driving all day trying to find a hotel. Was traveling during Sturgis and everything was sold out town to town. The Staff accidentally double booked a room and we snagged it up. This was with a doubt one of the nicest places we stayed for under 200. Room was very spacious , all new and super clean. Staff was super friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was minimal but room was worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemini00215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 160 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a cabin that was next to the motel rooms and it was very clean and spacious. The nice thing about the lodge is that it is close to town and you can walk around to all the shops and dinner. We did use the pool (outdoor) and it was very nice. They have a washing machine, you have to pay, but it was nice to use. There was a nice breakfast each morning and the owners seem to keep the place clean.

Room Tip: We had a cabin down by the hotels and it was nice to be close to the pool and a little cheaper than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karimllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Loved the location in Custer, and the place looked nice. The room was mostly clean, but the shower curtain liner was black at the bottom, and I didn't realize it til I was already half way done, or I never would have gotten in. Major yuck! The beds were the hardest we have ever slept on, and both my husband and I woke up with sore joints and back pain. The large deck was nice to have and we got a lot of use out of that. I liked how far up we were as we looked down on the town. The pool seemed clean, and our kids liked it a lot. I would have liked to use the hot tub, but it was closed our entire stay. One thing I find odd, is that they emphasize (both verbally and written) that no one under the age of 18 is allowed in the hot tub, yet a photo on the website showing that hot tub has multiple young children in it. Workers are all friendly here, and although we felt it was in the perfect location, we won't be back due to the very uncomfortable beds.

Room Tip: Bring a mattress pad for the rock hard bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jilly070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family stayed here 3 nights while seeing Mount Rushmore, Jewel Cave, Cosmos and other local attractions. The motel is laid out like a motor lodge with cabins situated on the hillside above. It has an outdoor pool but it is pretty rudimentary and could stand to be maintained more often. It has a free breakfast and we felt it was pretty good. The laundry facility (a washer and dryer) was very small and as a result my wife had to take our laundry to a local laundromat. The motel was very clean, the rooms were big and the staff was very friendly. One of the best aspects is that it is situated in the middle of all the local attractions which means a 15 to 20 minute drive time to most of the things you came there to see.

Room Tip: There are a variety of rooms / cabins available so be sure to call ahead and walk through them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night and the room was clean. However, the floor and bed slanted pretty badly. The layout of the little kitchette area and the little table made for a lot of bumps and bruises. There was not enough room between them to walk so you were constantly whacking your hips on either the counter edge or the table (or if you are a little taller your head on the cabinet). There was an isue with the television -- but we have to give the manager kudos -- he drove 20 miles to come out and get it fixed immediately. The location was good and the outside area was clean and inviting. The rate was a bit expensive for such a bare bones room -- I have paid far less for nicer rooms in just as touristy an area. Based on the rate and the write up on the internet I had expected a more upscale lodge -- and got a more economy (family friendly) motel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CastellanosML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed in the Family "Cabin" while we were here and my Dad/Stepmom stayed in one of the cabins on the hill. We were both happy with our accommodations-they are well kept and clean. When we first got there, we found out that the Family Cabin was not really a cabin at all-but an add on next to a double garage and my Husband was disappointed that we weren't in one of the pretty cabins on the hill but once inside he was surprised. There are no pictures of the Family cabin on their website. There was a full kitchen with a big washer and dryer, stove, fridge, microwave, coffee maker and toaster, eating area with a table with chairs for 4, double pullout couch and a couple of comfy chairs with a flat screen tv in the living room. We had a master bedroom with a queen size bed, another bedroom with 2 singles and then of course a bathroom with a tub. We assumed that no one would be making our beds everyday or cleaning up at all but were pleasantly surprised when we came back to our room to find it tidied and beds made!
We had an issue with me booking the wrong dates and when I went to the front desk to sort it out, the manager was helpful and stated that the resorts policy for early check out was a 25.00 penalty but that she would speak with the owners and see what she could do. We never did have the charge put on our bill. They were very reasonable and I was thankful as it could have cost us a whole night's stay at any other resort.
At night we were so tired and needed a good night's rest and we noticed a lot of people right outside our cabin playing games and grilling and we worried that we might hear noise all night long. Once inside the cabin, we didn't hear a thing-it was very quiet.
The kids liked the resort because they have a pool and a hot tub although they complained that the hot tub wasn't hot or even warm. The pool was never really busy at all.
I should also mention that the climb up the hill to the cabins is a little steep for older people, my Dad got quite winded climbing up so if you're not using a vehicle to get up there it may be a little much.
Also, they offer a continental breakfast in the morning in the check in office.

Room Tip: Choose a cabin at the bottom of the hill or in the motel if you have a hard time with climbs. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UBERMOMOF5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Came upon Rock Crest Lodge shortly after arriving into Custer. Based on how clean and neat this property looked, my husband and I stopped in to ask about a room for the night. We were able to get one of the "lodge rooms" consisting of a small bedroom with two double beds connected to a small living/dining area... perfectly adequate for us and for a reasonable price. Our "lodge" room was really a renovated motel room from a motel of long ago. The renovated room we had was tastefully and nicely done. MOST important to us, it was clean. We liked that we could park directly in front of our unit, only feet away, so dragging luggage in and out was easy. The beds were comfortable and because our unit had two rooms, which in the former life of this motel was most likely two small motel units (back to back), we had windows on two opposing sides and got good cross ventilation with the windows open. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
4.0 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#13 of 18 in Custer
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
12.7 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 13 in Keystone
959 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Crest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Crest Lodge

Address: 15 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1422
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Hotel Class:3 star — Rock Crest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Rock Crest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Crest Hotel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing