We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like it was brand new”
Review of Rock Crest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rock Crest Lodge
Ranked #10 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This touristy area lacks fine lodging, so for the locale, Rock Crest Lodge is exquisite. The room and furnishings felt brand new, as did the hotel exterior. The other options in town didn't give the same impression (though we didn't actually see the rooms). Great, easy location. Our room was pretty tiny but did have a wet bar and fridge. I understand they have larger king-bed rooms, but since we got the last room available we didn't have a choice of size. I would definitely recommend RCL given the available options.

Room Tip: Ask if there are larger rooms available (seems they are only $10 more than the basic room).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwishn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockcrestsd, Manager at Rock Crest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

We strive to keep our decor up-to-date but tastefull! I am pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and I hope you will stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 159 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2011

Family of 4 stayed in cabin 208 over the 4th of July weekend. It was above our expectations. The fully stocked kitchen and extra towels in the oversized bathroom was a plus. Daily cleaning service was not expected. It was a big plus! Walking distance to an ice cream/pie shoppe. Gas grills to use by the office. Covered decks with chairs and tables. If we plan to return to the area, our first call will be making reservations at Rock Crest.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debby98270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockcrestsd, Manager at Rock Crest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

I am pleased we went above your expectations!! We strive to do our best to accomodate our guests while they are staying with us. I am also pleased with the fact you would consider staying with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed in one of the suites, 2 rooms. The room was ok,nice features,had a small wet bar,but absolutely no glasses or dishes. They did have wine glasses that was nice. The beds ar XL double,while the length was nice the bed was small, nice flat screen TV. I think the real problem is they have rooms behind the suites,thus youhave people siting right in front of your bedroom window. We had to close the windows and shades because of the people sitting in front of them. Strange arrangement. The cabins looked very nice. The pool could use some work, no bathroom which means a lot of kids pee in it because there isn't a restroom even close. One poor little 3 yr. old could not hold it anymore. It is also far away from cabins and rooms,not a good lay out.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzieFortCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

We stayed here last fall. I reserved the room through Custer State Park; and it was less expensive for a family than the hotel/lodge accommodations in the park. Rock Crest Lodge is on the Custer town strip and convenient for families. We had a bedroom with 2 double (or queen?) beds and a front room with a fridge, coffee maker, and sleeper sofa.

There is a simple breakfast that comes with the room. Everything was clean and comfortable and I thought the price was fine for the time of year and what we received. The location is convenient to the sights.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MidwesternParent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockcrestsd, Manager at Rock Crest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2011

Thank you for your recent review. All of our accomadations have a small fridge, microwave and coffee pot. The Rock Crest Lodge and the town of Custer is a short driving distance to Custer State Park, Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse Memorial to name a few. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you come the the beautiful Black Hills of South Dakota.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We had a great time and the Lodge was perfectly situated for a visit to the Black Hills. We stayed five nights and comfortably saw everything one would want to see in this terrific location. Our cabin was clean and comfortable with a wonderful porch with table that we used every day. Although on the first night the fold out couch was bit worse for wear the staff immediately replaced it the next day while we were out. We enjoyed our private hot tub and the HEATED pool. Nice experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockcrestsd, Manager at Rock Crest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2011

The Rock Crest Lodge has cabins and lodge rooms with a variety of arrangments, including some cabins with their own private hot tub. There is also a hot tub located next to the outdoor heated pool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Room #107 in the lodge met our needs for a family vacation for 5. It was nice to have two separate rooms so our 19 year old could have his own space after we went to bed in the other room. I wish the pool was open earlier than 10am because my 8 and 11 year old wanted to swim by 8am. The hot tub was small and never hot when we wanted to use it. The breakfast was simple breads and cereals, but it filled us up until lunch. Our room was always clean with the beds made and new towels each day. I loved that we could just pull our vehicle up to the front door. The hotel staff were all pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamgrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockcrestsd, Manager at Rock Crest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2011

Thank you for your review. The Rock Crest Lodge has several suites with one or two bedrooms. The staff cleans and maintains the pool starting at 8 am; we try to have the pool open before 10 am when ever possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

This was a wonderful place to stay when visiting the Black Hills area. It was centrally located. The beds were very comfortable and the hotel was large. This hotel was very quite.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moose7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
10.1 mi away
Mount Rushmore Lodge at Palmer Gulch
4 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#13 of 18 in Custer
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
12.7 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 13 in Keystone
962 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#2 of 18 in Custer
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Crest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Crest Lodge

Address: 15 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1422
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Hotel Class:3 star — Rock Crest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Rock Crest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Crest Hotel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing