We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer(Custer)(Great Value!)
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills(Custer)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge Custer(Custer)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chief Motel(Custer)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gold Camp Cabins(Custer)(Great Value!)
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Rock Crest Lodge(Custer)(Great Value!)
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveler rating
144
39
10
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
39
10
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main streethunting lodgehot tubfront porchbrewed coffeeblack hillscharcoal grillopen roommet johncuster state parkgrocery storecool nighttwo blockscozy cabinsmickelson trailqueen bedlarge porch
Filter
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 195 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2008

We had a terrific trip to South Dakota & loved our stay at the Shady Rest Hotel in Custer. It is nestled in the trees at the edge of town. Most of the cabins are very old. They have been well taken care of & are newly remodeled with new pine paneling. The room smelled a bit musty when we walked it, but that was easily cured by keeping the windows open - which you would do anyway because of the great weather. The people who run the motel are friendly, & our cabin was immaculent! We were a little worried because the price was low, but we didn't need to be. The town of Custer is cute - not very commercialized. If you like bright & shiney hotels & commercialized towns, this is not the place for you. We liked being able to walk to breakfast & dinner & playing in the town park, There are some good restaurants in town. We especially liked Sage River. It was also a great location if you want to see Crazy Horse, Custer State Park, & the Mammoth Site.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WVMountaineerinIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

On a trip across the country, we were going to stop at Mt. Rushmore, S.D. We had planned to camp the night at Custer State Park, but the weather was looking pretty bad. We checked several hotels in the area and found that they were very expensive and sold out for the night. Driving by we saw that there were cabins about 2 blocks from the center of town so we dr4ove down that way and found very adorable brightly painted cabins. Each cabin has it's own porch with chairs to sit out. We stayed in cabin #7. They were much cheaper than the chain hotels and had a lot more character. We had the only unit with a bathtub. The bed was a little soft, and the heater was somewhat noisy. But the location was central to most of the area's attractions, and walking distance to the town.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank happybeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2008

This tiny motel has been in operation by the same family since before the depression. Eight brightly painted cabins of varying size sit perched on the hill south of downtown. It’s a very nice walk to the shops, restaurants, and city parks. Karri, the proprietor, is a very cheery and helpful hostess.

We stayed in Cabin 6--a two bed unit that has a queen in the front room and a double in the tiny bedroom. The kitchenette was well stocked with pots, pans, flatware, and dining ware. I fell in love with the old drain board sink. The tiny bathroom furnished all the necessities but it did get a bit cool. The shower was a tight fit and the water faucet handles had to be just so to keep a constant, comfortable water temperature but we never ran out of hot water.

We stayed five days and never wanted for clean towels or room maintenance. Amusingly, one day we came back to find a kitty on our pillow. Apparently, she snuck in while our room was being serviced and hid from the attendant. Being pet oriented people, we were very amused. Another day, the room was serviced but we had accidentally left the “Do Not Disturb” sign on the door. The attendant left us a very nice note apologizing for the intrusion.

Shady Rest welcomed our little terrier but the on-premise cats did keep a wary eye on her. A sign posted in the office states that pets left in the room will be impounded and I have no problem with that. Pets left alone in unfamiliar surroundings become stressed and cause damage. Shady Rest is up front with the limitations of the pet friendly policy. Hopefully, this reduces problems with the occasional irresponsible pet toting traveler.

The motel provides WiFi, but the service was intermittent. I did spend some time in the Custer Library and had excellent connection there.

I definitely recommend the Shady Rest and will stay there again the next time I’m in Custer.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank katskil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2006

We are a family of 5 and we stayed here for 2 nights in a small cottage with 2 double beds. There was enough floor space to use our twin aero-bed. This particular cottage (#1) was very tiny, but there are others that are larger if you reserve far enough in advance.

Our shower was extremely small and cramped, but had plenty of hot water if you were patient to wait for it. The walls/ceilings are paneled in pine, but the flooring could use new carpeting. The beds seemed a bit old, and the linens definitely have seen better days.

But, the cottages are clean, include daily maid service and can't be beat for the price. If you are just looking for a place to sleep and shower in the morning these cottages are decent. Good location (better than staying in touristy Keystone), nice porch to sit outside, small fridge, microwave, toaster, cable TV and AC.

Kari the owner was very friendly, welcoming and helpful. She tried to move us into a larger unit, but none became available.

We did see other places that might have been nicer to stay at if we had booked earlier - Blue Bell Resort, Sylvan Lake Resort and Hillside Country Cabins (but all much more expensive than the Shady Rest).

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DMReicher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
laramie wyoming
14
Reviewed May 21, 2006

We have been staying at this motel for about 7 years. We love the quirky cabins, which are always immaculate. The family is wonderful. It is a lovely quiet area overlooking town with a beautiful view of the hills. You can go anywhere from here!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews