We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shady Rest Motel
Nearby Hotels
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills(Custer)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer(Custer)(Great Value!)
$75
$70
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area(Custer)(Great Value!)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rocket Motel(Custer)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gold Camp Cabins(Custer)(Great Value!)
$105
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveler rating
140
38
10
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
140
38
10
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshunting lodgethe main streethot tubfront porchbrewed coffeeblack hillscuster state parkopen roomcharcoal grillgrocery storecool nighttwo blockscozy cabinsmickelson trailqueen bedlarge porchceiling fan
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 190 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Shady Rest Motel is definitely your best bet for lodging in Custer. The cabins are cute and very clean. They include a kitchenette, a front porch, a grill and a very clean hot tub. They sit up on a hill away from the main drag. The owners are gracious and welcoming. This may be my most enjoyable lodging experience of all.

Room Tip: If you have a larger party there are cabins that can accommodate you.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank everyoneisastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We just spent three nights at the Shady Rest Motel and loved every minute of our stay. From my first phone call with Ann to make the reservation to being wished a safe trip from John as we were packing up the experience was personable and wonderful. Our family of five stayed in the Bunk House. My boys loved sleeping up in the loft and my daughter was perfectly comfortable on the bed that was made from the kitchen table. Yes, the cabin is very small but it was comfortable and clean. The location cannot be beat. We loved that it was off the main drag by a block yet we were able to walk everywhere we went from dinner to the grocery store. The kids also loved that there is a little park right across the street and I appreciated that I could just sit and our little deck and keep an eye on them from there. Not knowing what to expect I booked three nights at the SRM and three nights at another hotel in town to split our trip just in case the cabins were miserably small. I have to say that I was sad to leave the cabin for the bigger hotel today because we enjoyed it that much. Next time I would stay there for our whole week!

Room Tip: Check out the room diagrams on the website to see what cabin works best for your group.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed one night at the Shady Rest Cabins on our way through Black Hills to Yellowstone. It was a lovely experience. Ann greeted us a check-in and gave us great advice on how to spend our evening. She was extremely friendly and made us feel right at home. The cabin was clean, though a bit tight on space for our family of five. That was fine because we were just there for sleeping, not to hang out in the cabin. The kitchenette was handy for breakfast in the morning before heading out to the next step of our adventure. It's a family friendly place with nice accommodations.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridgetrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

So glad we picked the Shady Rest Motel for 4 nights during our Black Hills vacation. Our cabin was clean & comfy, spotless bathroom, comfortable bed, the kitchenette was handy since we could have a leisurely breakfast before venturing out for the day in a quiet neighborhood away from the bustle of Main Street. Would definitely stay here again and will recommend to family and friends. Thank you Ann & John!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

What a wonderful place. The term Motel does not do it justice. The cabins are spacious and comfortable and have full kitchens and everything you need. If something is missing, Anne will lend you her own (like a slow cooker). Charcoal BBQs are available for every cabin. Site even has an outdoor hot tub (free for guests) Five minute walk into centre of Custer and a few miles from Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse etc. A long way from UK but will go there again.

Room Tip: If you are a large group ask for the hunting lodge. A few dollars more but well worth it. Lots of room. I think it sleeps eight in two private double room (one en suite) and two queen beds on upper floor.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews