We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay - in the middle of everything and super clean”
Review of Shady Rest Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shady Rest Motel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed for several nights at this location while we traveled to all of the Black Hills attractions. Custer is an excellent place to stay. Lots of restaurants, laundry mat and shopping. Our cabin was super clean and the wifi service was excellent. W would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank coldfeet52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
There are newer reviews for Shady Rest Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 187 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was a great experience. The cabins were super clean, and the owners were always close at hand if we needed anything. They suggested things for us to do that they had personally experienced as a family with children. Great value and service for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelU1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This was our first time staying at the Shady Rest, and our eighth trip to the black hills. I don't know why it took so long to find this gem. Six nights went by in a flash. Ann & John were helpful and knowledgeable of the attractions in the area. The cabin was clean and very nice. Don't hesitate to book here, as you won't be disappointed. We hope to be repeat customers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FredPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I booked this cabin based on the great reviews and the reviews were right! The cabin was adorable and clean. We had cabin #7 for 4 nights and received a 10% discount bc we stayed over 3 nights. Our rate was only $68.50 per night after the discount for Sun-Thurs. No other cabin in the Black Hills even comes close to this in price/value. Other cabins like this were all $150 + per night and I doubt were this clean and charming. It was just my husband and I and I think 2 adults is the maximum that should stay in this room comfortably. The cabin had a bath tub which was nice, I believe cabin #7 is the only one with a tub, others shower only. Had a stove, toaster, coffee maker, mini frige, a/c, cable tv, no phone but had wifi in room. Wifi worked 90% of the time. Queen bed was very comfy with extra pillows and blanket even. Cooking utensils, pots, pans etc. were provided. Cute front deck with 3 chairs. Nice location in back row on the hill with trees all around. The owners could not have been friendlier. Excellent hospitality. There is a hot tub but we never had time to use it. There is a room by the hot tub that has coffee, tea etc available 24/7 for free. We had a great stay & would definitely return to Shady Rest! Excellent, central Hills location! Thanks for the keepsake bandana!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daisymae531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Our 3 night stay was amazing. The cabin (hunters lodge) was spotlessly clean.
The location to all the attractions in the southern portion of the black hills was ideal.
The cabin was huge for the 5 of us and very nicely layed out. We took advantage of the kitchen and saved a lot on eating out. 2 bathrooms was a real treat since there was 5 of us. We watched deer from our balcony/deck every evening. It felt like home and we were sad to have to leave.
The owner, Ann, is a wonderful person. She personally showed us the cabin when we arrived, was available if we needed anything, and was the best resource for activities in the area.
The value was unbeatable. She gave us a great discounted rate on the cabin because it was the start of the shoulder season. The 10 person cabin was less than many hotel rooms in the area.
Do yourself a favor and stay here if you can. You won't be disappointed. We will be sure to again and recommend Shady Rest to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Droolinglooneytunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Spent 3 nights at Shady Rest in mid August 2012. Stayed in the bunk house which suite our family of 4 very well. Son and I crashed in the bunk which was over the "booth" sytle table, which also converted to a bed...somehow. Wife and daughter slept in the Queen bed. Very clean cabin and owners were very welcoming and accommodating for requests. Great alternative to hotel life while on vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeelyMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Shady Rest Motel and would certainly recommend it to everyone who needs a place to stay in Custer. Ann and John were more than helpful,,,like tracking us down at the park across the road with their portable phone with a phone call for us!! They had good recommendations for us and we thoroughly enjoyed our time both in Custer and at Shady Rest. They really do need to start advertising that the creek running right across the road from them is the creek that the gold rush began in many years ago!! Wonderful place to stay!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pastord33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Custer hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
4.2 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 18 in Custer
35 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Custer
Days Inn Custer
#17 of 18 in Custer
264 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.2 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 18 in Custer
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shady Rest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shady Rest Motel

Address: 238 Gordon St, Custer, SD 57730-1820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Custer
#3 Romantic Hotel in Custer
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Shady Rest Hotel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing