We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer(Custer)(Great Value!)
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills(Custer)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge Custer(Custer)(Great Value!)
$90
EconoLodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chief Motel(Custer)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gold Camp Cabins(Custer)(Great Value!)
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Rock Crest Lodge(Custer)(Great Value!)
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveler rating
144
39
10
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
144
39
10
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main streethunting lodgehot tubfront porchbrewed coffeeblack hillscharcoal grillopen roommet johncuster state parkgrocery storecool nighttwo blockscozy cabinsmickelson trailqueen bedlarge porch
Filter
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 195 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2012

1.The Shady Rest Motel is my favorite place to stay when in the Black Hills. I have stayed there 3 times now.
2.The management is wonderful – family owned place with charm. The most friendly people that you will ever meet. They make you feel extremely welcome.
3.Each cabin is very quaint and delightful with all amenities.
4.The best thing is that on a cool night in the Black Hills, guests can enjoy the outdoor hot tub under the stars.
5.Most cabins have a porch/balcony with a seating area that overlooks the town of Custer.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SWMN87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

What a wonderful place to stay! The rates are great. ( you get a discount if staying 3 days or more) The owners were very friendly and helpful and they offer free coffee also. The cabins are very clean and the beds were oh so comfy for worn out travelers. We stayed for 5 days and did not have any complaints. The owners were very pleasant and knew everything about all the sites to see, where to get groceries and places to dine. There is a park across the street so if you are traveling with little ones this would be a plus. We would for sure rent the cabins again. Thanks John and Ann for a relaxing experince.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank happytraveleryeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Pros: Great location for our purposes. It is located right by the Mickelson bike/hike trail. Close to downtown Custer so within walking distance of groceries, food, etc. Beds were very comfy but we like firm mattresses. One of the beds was in its own suite. Cabin was clean. Nice hot tub. Free coffee . The owners, as others have said, were very nice and friendly, helpful people.

Cons: Shower head way too low for my 6'4" husband and son. Our cabin (#5) was unhandy for eating meals for 4 of us and I'd hate to see 8 people try to sleep and live in it as the website states. It would be better if a queen bed was removed in our opinion. There's a lot packed into a very small space. This particular cabin needed work done on the door to make it more air tight and stay shut without having to lock it. The heater (which we needed) is just located on the main level and takes a while to heat up the whole cabin.

I would stay again but probably in a different cabin.

Room Tip: Don't necessarily believe the head count for the cabins. They are small.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank onebirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Absolutely wonderful experience! We loved the great view of town and how the cabins are nestled into the hillside. Stayed in Cabin #9,clean place, superior, accommodating service and a very reasonable rate. The only downfall...only stayed one night, last leg of our trip. Anne is astoundingly pleasant & helpful!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Sweetredloafers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This is a definite stay again. We stayed in Cabin #9 which is fairly new. Very clean and very reasonably priced. Close to town and across the street from a little park. Owner/Manager was very nice and extremely helpful. She even let us know about hot air balloon races the next am. Yes we did go.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews