We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't Impressed- So So- Left Early”
Review of Chief Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chief Motel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2009

My husband and I vacationed in Custer the early part of June and was very eager to get to our hotel after our drive in from Denver. I chose the Chief Hotel for the great reviews on here, but I was disappointed right at the start. I made sure in booking our room that I asked for the "Large Queen Room". Someone had previously posted that the rooms were very small. Well I felt like we were staying in a box. I have done alot of traveling over the past few years and this was the smallest room that I had ever stayed in. Now granted we only booked 1 queen bed room, the rooms that have more than a queen bed would obviously be bigger. This motel is maybe from the 50's, I am not sure. The room heater was very loud, it worked great but loud. I had to have the heater or fan going to drown out the noise from the party of about 6 next door. The walls must be very thin. It is very close to the road so you could certainly hear the traffic during the day. The tv is very small, if you wanted to watch it after a long day of seeing Custer. Now on a positive note the housekeepers were super, seeing to our every need. This motel is kept very clean. There were some extra perks, free use of a Custer State Park Pass, that was a great place and we thoroughly enjoyed seeing all of the buffalo. We also purchased the discount breakfast tickets for next door, that was appreciated. Don't forget to try The Purple Pie Place, the best place to eat in town. Beautiful area, we took a trip over to The Badlands, a really unique area. We had booked for 3 nights and get the 4th night free, but I couldn't stand being cooped up any longer and forfeited the free night and left early. Now don't get me wrong, this is a truly beautiful area, I just wish we had stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RockyMountainLover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 323 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2009

This place is GREAT! The owners are wonderful; they took the time when we checked in to highlight areas of interest on a map for us. The motel is an older one that has been well taken care of. The rooms are clean with extra warm blankets and plush pillows. HINT: stay in the room that has the separate bedroom; if you have kids it is well worth it (and it is the same price as a standard room). They are running specials all of the time with the local restaurants. When we were there they had a $1.89 breakfast with the restaurant next door; 2 eggs, toast and hashbrowns. If you book three nights they give you a pass for Custer State Park, this saved us a little money getting into the park. Good people and a nice place, almost like home.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

This is a great motel if you are not interested in a lot of amnenities. Close to restaurants and sightseeing. The people are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FemaleTraveler85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

The Chief Motel isn't much to look at, but it was wonderful. The owners are extrememly friendly and the staff does an excellent job making sure your stay is just what you want. Our room was cleaned every day - the pool was GREAT - and for once, we were given more than enough towels for our family of four (for swimming AND for showering every day). The discount on breakfast at the neighboring restaurant was also very nice. Being a young family on a budget, paying only $1.44 for eggs, hashbrowns, and toast was a treat.
We booked one of the two-room suites, which was so nice to find at the same price as one room. It was more than convenient to be able to have the kids separated without having to pay for two separate rooms.
Between the breakfast, the discount at Subway, the free park pass to Custer State Park, and the free night stay, the Chief Motel was a good stay at a GREAT price.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strumsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2008

My husband and I stayed three nights at the Chief mid-September. I had booked us there after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor.com. Our 2-queen-bed room was exactly as pictured and quite large. EXTREMELY comfortable bed - we were on the road for 15 nights, and our backs were quite grateful for this. Plenty of towels and pillows. The room was VERY quiet to our surprise, given the proximity of the road and the layout of the property.

Bruce the owner was very kind and quite funny in his overview of what to do and see and when to do it all. Excellent tour guide!

Personal, cozy, comfortable, and intimate after a bunch of chain hotels on our trip. Plenty of restaurants to WALK to as well. Very clean room and bathroom.

Look forward to staying here again when we make our next trip. Certainly didn't have enough time in the Black Hills.

Best value of our trip - 4500 miles.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MMA888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2008

We recently spent 4 nights at the Chief Motel in Custer South Dakota. We were near the end of a 7.5 week motorcycle trip which took us across Canada, down the Pacific coast to San Simeon, up to Yosemite, Yellowstone and the Black Hills. We chose the Chief based on reviews it received on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed.
The owners are very friendly and most helpful, providing us with area information and even a pass for Custer State Park. The rooms and grounds are extremely clean and homey with quilts and pillow shams on the beds, lots of fresh towels, outdoor chairs etc. There is a lovely indoor pool, hot tub and sauna which is also extremely clean and well maintained. After having travelled over 6,500 miles our bike was really ready for a good cleanup so the covered motorcycle parking with wash area and fresh cleaning rags placed on our motorcycle each morning were a real bonus for us.
Our trip was a combination of camping and motelling and we both agree that this was the most welcoming and homiest accomodation we had stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RM08-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

We had a king room, which was certainly large enough for two people. and quite nice. The room looked exactly like the internet photo, and was well equipped. The bed was comfy, and quite homey, with non-institutional, soft sheets being a plus. We were shocked to think anyone would think the price, which was more than reasonable, to be high. This is not your "typical" motel, but is a large cut above. The free pass to Custer State Park was another plus. When we checked out, we had a handwritten note on our door thanking us for staying there; how refreshing! We would definitely stay there again, and see why it is rated #1 on TripAdvisor!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TulsaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
4.1 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#13 of 18 in Custer
36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Custer
Days Inn Custer
#18 of 18 in Custer
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
12.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
71 reviews
13.4 mi away
Mountain View Lodge & Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chief Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chief Motel

Address: 120 Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1829
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#6 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range: $72 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chief Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated * Free HS wireless internet * Custer's largest indoor pool (in season May 20-Sept 18)* Hot Tub * Sauna * 2 Restaurants adjacent * In-room coffee/cocoa * ref/micro * All rooms no smoking / no pets * Near Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park, Wildlife Loop Road (1500 buffalo), Scenic Needles Hwy, Iron Mt. Road* Jewel Cave * Wind Cave* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Chief Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chief Motel Custer
Chief Hotel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing