We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chief Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chief Motel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a few days. The staff is very nice and welcoming. The beds were very comfortable, the shower was nice( though the water does not get incredibly hot, just warm) and the breakfast was a great deal. The wifi is slow, that was probably the worse thing for us, but everything else made up for it. The room was very spacious as was the restroom. I would recommend getting the $1.99 breakfast, it was really good and close to the hotel. Overall, a great value!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    115
    35
    9
    3
See reviews for
130
113
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Called in Custer en route to Sturgis and decided to stay a night. I must admit the Chief Motel was not our first choice for accomodation, but I am so pleased we booked in. Our room was lovely and clean and spacious enough for our needs.The pool was also clean and tidy. The gentleman on reception advised which route to take for Mount Rushmore and The Needles- which was one of the most scenic I have taken ( we have been to a lot of National Parks -having just spent a couple of nights at Yellowstone). I can honestly recommend this Motel. The only fault I could find was no breakfast, however, the restaraunt next door served lovely steaks and breakfasts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schuyler NE
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Friendly place to stay, very helpful. Rooms small, but very clean. Clean towel on bike every morning was a nice touch. Pool and sauna great after a long day of riding. Could be more sheltered bike parking. Free passes & discounts make it a great value. Will stay here again for sure!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Went to Custer for a quick end-of-summer get-away with my grandson before giving him back to his parents and school. Didn't realize I'd picked the middle of the great "Sturgess motorcycle rally" and the Chief had one of the last rooms available in town. Was expecting to be disappointed, but very pleasantly surprised. The office staff (both evening and morning) were very cordial; we were greeted with an area map and the desk clerk listed family activities that we might enjoy. The room was very clean, had new carpeting, paint and furniture, the bath was updated. The pool was great, the jaccuzzi was dated, cracked and repaired many times, but the water was sparkling clean. This is an older place, family owned, that has been cared for and maintained. I won't hesitate to book here again next time.

Room Tip: Traffic noise from the thousands of motorcycles -- rooms further from the road might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan_and_Ellen_Morin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora
Level Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Been coming to the Chief for dozens of years. It keeps getting updated, and growing.

Came during Sturgis week (hint: Custer is a great central location to enjoy the area, its scenic rides, and a biker friendly town with a dozen bike paraphelia shops and a few nice bars. City even sets the Main St. center for biker friendly parking).

Chief Motel features large clean rooms, nice patio seating, kind staff, and good location. It's been a consistent fav for dozens of years.

Room Tip: Rooms 210, 211, 212 are further back away from street noise during bike week. Features dedicted par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife & I stayed here for 4 nights at the end of June. We liked the location in the centre (English spelling) of Custer. Glad we stayed in Custer rather than Hill City or Keystone & the free pass to Custer State Park was a bonus.
Found the rooms OK & very clean, they were set back from the road so we got a good nights sleep, the bed was fine but the bathroom could do with a bit of a makeover but it was clean & tidy.
The owners Bruce & Nancy were very friendly & made us welcome.
We paid for our road trip before we left England and when we gave Bruce our pre paid voucher he said he had not received his money, but he got it sorted the next day so all was well.
We enjoyed sitting outside our door and having a few drinks.
It was very good value for money.
Would not bother with the Purple Pie across the road, had a sandwich (which was the smallest we have ever had in England let alone the USA), a small bag of chips & some pie, had 10% discount with the voucher Bruce gave us and still found it very expensive, the worst value for money of all our meals in America and we were there for three & a half weeks.
I cannot fault the Motel for vale for money and with so many things to do we were out most of the day.
There was even a car washing area with all you needed to give the car a quick clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveFromBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at The Chief motel for 4 nights while seeing all the sites. The motel is older, and our room in need of some repair. The bathroom ceiling is peeling and the entire bathroom sorely needs re painting. The tub had mold all along the bottom of the shower door, not inviting when you want to soak in the tub. The room was very clean and comfortable. 1.99 breakfast OK per my husband, I did not have it. 1.99 vouchers for Purple Pie is great, great little cafe specializing in warm fruit pies across the street. Overall, a great value and location. Bruce, the owner more than helpful with any questions.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chowlee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.2 mi away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#16 of 17 in Custer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
12.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#2 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chief Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chief Motel

Property: Chief Motel
Address: 120 Mount Rushmore Road, Custer, SD 57730
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#7 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chief Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated * Free HS wireless internet * Custer's largest indoor pool (in season May 20-Sept 18)* Hot Tub * Sauna * 2 Restaurants adjacent * In-room coffee/cocoa * ref/micro * All rooms no smoking / no pets * Near Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park, Wildlife Loop Road (1500 buffalo), Scenic Needles Hwy, Iron Mt. Road* Jewel Cave * Wind Cave* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Chief Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chief Motel Custer
Chief Hotel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing