We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Trip at the Cheif Motel”
Review of Chief Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chief Motel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant Trip at the Cheif Motel”
Reviewed June 27, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Chief Motel during our road trip from Seattle to Chicago. We decided to book our stay at the motel due to the positive reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. When we pulled up to the hotel, we were a bit skeptical of the exterior. The front desk person, and I believe owner, was very friendly and helpful. He gave us the "95 second tour" of the Black Hills area, featuring visuals. Our room was extremely clean and well taken care of. All of the amenities were also in very great shape. The beds were comfortable and the furnishings were nice. The bathroom was in excellent condition and very clean. We really enjoyed our two night stay here and would recommend it to anyone for the good value and clean and enjoyable rooms.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, friendly
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BirdNoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    121
    37
    9
    3
See reviews for
134
116
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2008

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights over Memorial Day weekend. Our stay was very nice. Rooms are clean and the beds very comfortable. The $1.99 breakfast deal is super and the food was great. Owners are very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend.

  • Liked — Comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Outside appearance
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jerryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BONNIE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2008

We found Chief Motel from Trip Advisor while searching for a place to stay while visiting the Black Hills. The reviews were great so we contacted the motel directly. The special deals which included the Custer State Park pass, $1.99 breakfast plus the free nights made it an offer we couldn't refuse. We found the staff to be friendly, helpful and the motel clean and in good repair. The beds are so comfortable!!! We stayed our last night in Rapid City ,to catch a very early plane, at a La Quinta and Chief Motels beds were much better.
We felt at home and Custer is a great place to center all activities around while visiting the Black Hills. We ate 11 breakfasts at the Wrangler using the $1.99 coupon we bought from the Chief Motel, the food, service and overall experience was great. If you are traveling to Custer check out this great Mom and Pop motel for a down home stay!!!! Muir Family, Augusta, Georgia

  • Liked — Location, great value, clean, comfortable
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GLMUIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2008

What a wonderful and charming motel. I typically do not book a motel for our travels and was a little apprehensive. I read travel site reviews and could find nothing negative written about this place. After corresponding via email/phone with Bruce, the owner, during the planning stages of our trip, I was very impressed and convinced that this place is special. Based on that, I made reservations for my husband, 3 adult children, my parents, and me to stay one night. We were not disappointed. Bruce was very concerned in seeing that all of our needs were met. Our rooms were extremely clean (including the carpet) and the bedding was comfortable and homey. We have stayed at 5 Star establishments and although the Chief Motel may not compare in many ways to them, it certainly makes up for it if you are looking for a nice place to stay and have the bonus of meeting a very accommodating and nice owner.

  • Liked — Clean and accommodating owner
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneeSPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2007

Very Clean! Loved that you could get three beds in one room. We traveled with our 16 year old son and 10 year old daughter. And the rates were very reasonable. Our room was cleaned and freshened up every day (we did leave a tip every morning). Air conditioning worked great, and the beds were comfortable. Would definitely recommend the Chief Motel.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank mhar002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Custer hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.2 mi away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#15 of 17 in Custer
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Custer
Days Inn Custer
#17 of 17 in Custer
242 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.1 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 17 in Custer
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chief Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chief Motel

Property: Chief Motel
Address: 120 Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1829
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#7 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chief Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated * Free HS wireless internet * Custer's largest indoor pool (in season May 20-Sept 18)* Hot Tub * Sauna * 2 Restaurants adjacent * In-room coffee/cocoa * ref/micro * All rooms no smoking / no pets * Near Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park, Wildlife Loop Road (1500 buffalo), Scenic Needles Hwy, Iron Mt. Road* Jewel Cave * Wind Cave* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Chief Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chief Motel Custer
Chief Hotel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing