We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice roadside motel”
Review of Chief Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chief Motel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Chief Motel was a great place to spend a few days while in the Black Hills. Custer is centrally located for many things. The room had a microwave and refrigerator. The 1.99 breakfast deal is well worth it if you like a big breakfast. The pool and hot tub were great. There was some noise from being close to the road but it it stopped at night. The owners were pleasant and helpful, and have a cute little dog.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gwen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 320 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights.Room was very clean. My grandson loved the indoor pool.It was also sparking clean.We purchased the 1.99 breakfast coupons from the office.Can't say much for the breakfast.The owners was always polite and very helpful with questions we had. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CantonGagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a three night stay in a two bedroom room.
Pros: Two bedroom (we traveled with a child) It was nice to put him in his own room since he goes to bed earlier.
Micro and fridge
1.99 breakfast It was good!
1.99 pie slices at Pie Place (we went twice!)
Great location close to or just down the road to Custer State Park, Mammoth Site, Crazy Horse and Mt.Rushmore
Bed in child's bedroom was excellent Other bed was average
.25 pop machine
Large pool
Drive up to door
Wi Fi worked well
Friendly staff
Free use of Custer State Pass for three nights or more.
Cons
Shower was erratic.Very hard to control and frustrating to operate. I haven't read anyone else that had a problem with it, so maybe it was just going out on us.
Even with two bedrooms the rooms were on the small side. So if are you are expecting big spacious rooms they aren't. This wouldn't be a good room if you wanted to microwave a lot and eat in the room, since there isn't a table to sit at.

Good value--Overall the pros outweighed the cons. We loved the location and the price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iclocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Clean, friendly, well-maintained. Perfect location for a home base for the Black Hills. The free pass for Custer State Park was a bonus: You MUST go on the Needles Highway and see Sylvan Lake, and the pass makes it free. Ask Bruce (the owner) what you should do and see in the area.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Read all the reviews and looked at there're website, so I decided it would be ok for a week stay.
Staff were all very nice to us. Walked in the room I was SHOCKED at the size of this room (125) it was the smallest room I have ever stay in and I've stay in alot of rooms (retired pilot) I measured it and it was 12 X 15 and very little storage. The shower has so much water pressure and the shower nozzle has such a fine spray, just taking a shower is painful. The room we had was clean. We left 3 days early and was given credit, which was nice. Lots of road noise.I wouldn't stay there again in there're queen room I would with a 2 bedroom room, just for the space.

Room Tip: There are some rooms on the north side that might be somewhat quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captjmmo8112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for an extended weekend trip which was quite relaxing! The room was very clean and despite it's age was very well maintained. The staff was also very friendly. They have breakfast coupons for a little restaurant down the street and we bought six and ate there every morning (highly recommended)! We didn't go to the pool but it's the talk of the town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

After reading the reviews, we were intrigued. My husband made reservations here to serve as a "home base" during our stop at Custer State Park. The hotel is close enough to the park, but in the cool little town. The Chief has a handy location and there's little need to drive to grab a bite at the many local restaurants. The rooms are average and we had a room with two double beds, split between 2 rooms. The AC/heater (heater in our case, as it was cold at night) was LOUD, but it added to the "charm"of the hotel. You should expect a hotel that was built in the 70's (I am guessing) and nothing more. We are a low key family of 4 and the hotel met our needs. We prefer to stay at local places whenever possible. The pool is in a separate building and you MUST leave your room and walk across the parking lot, which is a short walk if you are on the "inside" of the horseshoe shaped motel. Very chilly walk when we visited, but the pool area was an awesome place to relax after your daytime adventures. The breakfast deal is well worth it and the restaurant is a pleasant walk from the motel.

Room Tip: If you plan to use the pool and will visit when the weather could be cool, request a room along the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Custer hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.2 mi away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#15 of 18 in Custer
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Custer
Days Inn Custer
#18 of 18 in Custer
267 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.1 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 18 in Custer
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chief Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chief Motel

Address: 120 Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1829
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#7 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range: $94 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chief Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated * Free HS wireless internet * Custer's largest indoor pool (in season May 20-Sept 18)* Hot Tub * Sauna * 2 Restaurants adjacent * In-room coffee/cocoa * ref/micro * All rooms no smoking / no pets * Near Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park, Wildlife Loop Road (1500 buffalo), Scenic Needles Hwy, Iron Mt. Road* Jewel Cave * Wind Cave* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Chief Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chief Motel Custer
Chief Hotel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing