We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a large Family”
Review of Chief Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chief Motel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Mondovi, Wisconsin
1 review
“Great place for a large Family”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights just this month and we were very pleased with the size of the room. We had 3 queen beds and they allowed us to bring a sleeping bag for one of the kids as we are a family of 7. It was quiet, great location, clean, nice pool and very friendly staff. The price was outstanding!!! My kids said they liked our room BETTER than our rooms at Disney! We will be back.

Room Tip: Room 120 was a corner room and was just like having 2 rooms. It had a sliding door that seperated t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla_N_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    121
    37
    9
    3
See reviews for
135
116
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sullivan, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this motel. The owner was very friendly and the rooms were clean. They were in a nice location and we parked right outside of our two rooms. We did not use the indoor pool but there were several kids swimming when we went past to dinner. The motel has breakfast vouchers for $1.99 but unfortunately, the restaurant was closed the next morning (Monday) so we couldn't take advantage of that. However, the $1.99 pie vouchers were well worth it! The pie was delicious and homemade. Also, the vending machine has cans of soda for a quarter! What a neat thing to see in today's world. We walked to several areas down the street although there isn't much to do in Custer. That was no problem, we were just staying for one night. Overall, good place to stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEB1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazomanie, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Wyoming and SD. We stayed at this motel and we were thoroughly satisfied. We had a spacious room which was very clean and comfortable. I was charmed by the homemade quilts on the beds. It IS an older motel but I was instantly transported back to trips taken as a child.. that is, back to the 1950s and 1960s when motels had character. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinrn83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Just got back from Custer. Stayed 4 nights at the Chief Motel. Very comfy beds, great shower for a big guy and very clean every day. Staff is very helpful and full of info. Would go back without hesitation.
I would recommend this motel to anyone. Great price and no regrets.

Tim.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MN
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We booked the Chief Motel primarily on the previous good reviews on TripaAdvisor and we are so thankful! It really was an excellent place to stay for many reasons, a few are:
- Location - excellent central location within the Black Hills.
- Cleanliness - our room was very clean when we arrived and the staff did a great job with daily cleaning. Always a full set of clean towels and clean sheets after two nights. Yes, the motel is older, however, we didn't have any concerns about things being clean and sanitized.
- The motel manager was very friendly and gave us good information about how to reach the major attractions from our location. He obviously is invested in the motel and cleaned the pool every morning, delivered towels for bikers, etc.
- VALUE - the $1.99 breakfast vouchers, $1.99 purple pie place vouchers, and the Custer State Park pass definitely made our stay an excellent value. We ate at the Wrangler Cafe every morning and it was a more than adequate breakfast to get our day started. It is a short block walk from the motel.
- Room choice - we have three kids and it was such a treat to find a place with two queen beds and a twin. It was SO nice to travel without a cot or sleeping back for one kid!
- The pool - there are other nice motels in Custer, but not all have a pool. When we travel our kids often love the pool more than anything else. The pool was not overly exciting in my opinion, but the pool area was clean and the kids enjoyed it.
- The beds were very comfortable, the most comfortable we've had. I always dread hotel beds and I brought a large supply of ibuprofen assuming we'd be sleeping on mush. Not so at all, the beds were firm and we never tapped into the advil!
- It was quiet - when we were there it seemed that everyone was traveling with a similar agenda to ours. People were in bed early and up early as we were. There were no loud slamming doors, voices, etc. Maybe we were just lucky, but it was great.

We will definitely plan to stay here if we make it back to the Black Hills. We love family owed places with staff who are invested in the success of the business.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelswithkids5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekin, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

modest clean and friendly, the pool and spa and suana make it a plus, there are some tiny tiny rooms and some spacious ones, make sure to ask for a spacious one. they provided a place for us to wash our motorcycles, and there was a clean soft cloth on every bike in the morning to use to wipe down with , not the RITZ, but a great value for a good nights rest, we stayed 4 nights during Sturgis, great location , close to attractions

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLynn51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Chief Motel was a great mom & pop style motel. It was squeaky clean and had everything we needed. Our room was actually a 2 bedroom. There was a full size bed in one room with a closing pocket-style door and the other room had a queen sized bed, fridge, microwave, tv & desk. The beds were very comfortable. Mine and my husband's backs never hurt. The only drawback to the full size bed in the other room was no tv in there so the kids would come pile in our bed while waiting on the shower, etc. The bathroom had lots of room. The shower was kind of quirky with not wanting to stay at a constant temperature, but that seems pretty common in mom & pop motels. The shower head had LOTS of pressure. Oh and they always gave us 8 towels, wash cloths & hand towels every day. They were better than average towels and smelled very clean. Some folks that gave reviews of this motel have said that the rooms are small, but there was enough room for the 4 of us just fine. Besides, we weren't on vacation to spend the whole time in our room anyway...sleep, grab a shower, make some sandwiches & go again is our style. The indoor pool was the perfect temperature. I was worried about it being chilly since it is actually in a stand-alone building, but it was great. The hot tub was HOT. I mean, seriously scald your butt hot. The husband sat in it for about 3 to 5 minutes at a time, but I couldn't get in. Oh, I can't forget the 25 cent soda machine. We used it quite a bit. We would buy enough for the whole day to put in the cooler for a day of sight seeing. If you're a breakfast kind of person, definitely get the $1.99 coupons for the Wrangle Cafe. It was a great breakfast: 2 eggs any style, hashbrowns, a choice of bacon, sausage or ham, and toast or 2 pancakes. Drinks will cost you extra, but the restaurant was fair on their drink prices. Plus we just walked the block & a half from our motel room. There is also a really convenient laundry mat just about a block down from the motel. The husband & kids swam while I ran up and did a couple of loads of laundry. I definitely would recommend this motel and actually have recommended to several people that we know going to South Dakota.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CountryMomx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Custer hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.2 mi away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#15 of 17 in Custer
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.1 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#2 of 17 in Custer
559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chief Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chief Motel

Property: Chief Motel
Address: 120 Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1829
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Custer
#7 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chief Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated * Free HS wireless internet * Custer's largest indoor pool (in season May 20-Sept 18)* Hot Tub * Sauna * 2 Restaurants adjacent * In-room coffee/cocoa * ref/micro * All rooms no smoking / no pets * Near Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park, Wildlife Loop Road (1500 buffalo), Scenic Needles Hwy, Iron Mt. Road* Jewel Cave * Wind Cave* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Chief Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chief Motel Custer
Chief Hotel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing