We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, peaceful, cozy.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dakota Dream Bed & Breakfast & Horse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Custer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I just happened upon this place online while planning my trip for a friend's wedding. It ended up being an excellent vacation that I didn't know I needed! The owners, Ernie and Kathy are kind and hospitable. I got the most of my visit to South Dakota staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 159 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

We got help from Kathy the minute we booked at their place. Both Kathy and Ernie are fantastic hosts, which made us feel at home all the time. They put so much attention to the place, we wish we could stay there longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank YTC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

In the cheerful hospitality of Kathy and Ernie, strangers are friends. Their generous spirit fills the whole house which is beautifully furnished and decorated, and waits at the breakfast table where delicious made-from-scratch selections are offered (e.g. hand mixed venison sausage) along with interesting conversation. Tom B

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tom B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatMow, Owner at Dakota Dream Bed & Breakfast & Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Tom, we're so happy that you came as strangers and left as friends! Thank you for staying with us at Dakota Dream and for your kind comments. Best wishes in retirement,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We are a family of 6, including a 4 year old and a 10 month old. We stayed at Dakota Dream for our family vacation to see the mount Rushmore. We reserved both rooms downstairs, so we had the whole place to ourselves. Earnie and Kathy went out of their way to accommodate us and our special needs with having youngsters. Their home is lovely, very clean and the decoration is just beautiful and fitting.
The home made breakfasts were better than what you get at a 5 star hotel. I would definitely recommend Dakota Dream, and would definitely stay there again if we ever return to the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatMow, Owner at Dakota Dream Bed & Breakfast & Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you, Sarah. It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us at Dakota Dream, and we certainly appreciate your comments. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed with Ernie and Kathy at the Dakota Dream for 3 nights in late June. We were attending a friend's wedding, but also wanted to do some sightseeing while we were in the area. I can't imagine a better place to stay when visiting the Black Hills than the Dakota Dream. If we ever return, we would not even consider staying anywhere else!

The location is perfect. Dakota Dream is very close to Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park, and many of the other attractions in the area. We also made trips to Deadwood and the Badlands, which are a little bit farther but well within reach. It is an excellent home base for exploring all the region has to offer. However, while you are relaxing at the Dakota Dream it is very easy to forget that you are so close to all these tourist attractions thanks to the idyllic setting. The property is bordered by trees on almost all sides and feels much more isolated and remote than it really is. It is not uncommon to spot deer wandering through the "backyard" while lounging on the large deck, patio, or swing.

The Bears Den room was large and impeccably clean. The bed was also very comfortable. The whole house is very nicely decorated and has a charming "cabin in the woods" feel to it. Yet luxuries abound, including a jacuzzi tub, desktop computer, wireless internet, TV, and complimentary tea, cookies, and cold bottled water.

To top it all off, Ernie and Kathy are phenomenal hosts. They are some of the nicest, friendliest people I have ever met and they welcomed us into their home with open arms. They offered great advice on getting around the area and frequently just chatted with us while we hung around the house. Kathy's breakfasts were delicious and there was always plenty of hot coffee and great conversation. They really know how to make you feel at home.

We had a wonderful time and would definitely come back for another stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

On a trip that included the Sturgis Bike Rally, hubby and I had the opportunity to stay at the 'Dakota Dream Bed and Breakfast' in Custer, South Dakota. Ernie and Kathy, the proprietors, have an awesome home setting for a bed and breakfast. The room we stayed in 'Bears Den' had a very comfortable queen size bed with top quality linens and pillows. The breakfasts were served in a setting where we were able to look out onto the property and see wildlife (whitetail deer, birds, etc.) They have wireless internet access with a computer for the guests use, satellite television, books, and comfy couches and chairs for guests in the common area. We were very happy with the set up and will definitely go back. The location is very close to Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial and a little further to Devil's Tower National monument.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatMow, Owner at Dakota Dream Bed & Breakfast & Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Dakota Dream! It was a lot of fun hearing about your ranch and the associated stories at breakfast! Hope to see y'all next Rally!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our overnight stay at Dakota dream was very pleasant. The owners, Kathy and Ernie, had a B&B in Pennsylvania but had travled many times to South Dakota. Even though they have only been there less than a year, you know that they will succeed because of the efforts they have made to their space makes it a welcoming place to stay. The breakfast was simple but delicious and the setting where you can see the wildlife and grounds was idyllic. We only wished we had more time to spend in the area. We did, however, spend some time in Custer State Park based on the owners' recommendation. We found the drive on the Needles Highway captivating.

Room Tip: Follow owners direction to get there. GPS could not find it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jaq434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
12.4 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 13 in Keystone
961 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Elk Ridge Bed & Breakfast
12.3 mi away
Harney Peak Inn
Harney Peak Inn
#1 of 8 in Hill City
73 reviews
1 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 18 in Custer
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Dream Bed & Breakfast & Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Dream Bed & Breakfast & Horse Hotel

Address: 12350 Moss Rock Ln, Custer, SD 57730-8303
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Custer
Price Range: $95 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful log bed and breakfast situated on 20 serene, pine covered acres on the out skirts of Custer. Close to the Mickelson Trail and Custer State Park. B&B rooms with private baths. Full breakfast served. Horses welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing