We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Friends in Custer”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dakota Dream Bed & Breakfast & Horse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Custer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
“New Friends in Custer”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

In the cheerful hospitality of Kathy and Ernie, strangers are friends. Their generous spirit fills the whole house which is beautifully furnished and decorated, and waits at the breakfast table where delicious made-from-scratch selections are offered (e.g. hand mixed venison sausage) along with interesting conversation. Tom B

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tom B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatMow, Owner at Dakota Dream Bed & Breakfast & Horse Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Tom, we're so happy that you came as strangers and left as friends! Thank you for staying with us at Dakota Dream and for your kind comments. Best wishes in retirement,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
92
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We are a family of 6, including a 4 year old and a 10 month old. We stayed at Dakota Dream for our family vacation to see the mount Rushmore. We reserved both rooms downstairs, so we had the whole place to ourselves. Earnie and Kathy went out of their way to accommodate us and our special needs with having youngsters. Their home is lovely, very clean and the decoration is just beautiful and fitting.
The home made breakfasts were better than what you get at a 5 star hotel. I would definitely recommend Dakota Dream, and would definitely stay there again if we ever return to the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatMow, Owner at Dakota Dream Bed & Breakfast & Horse Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you, Sarah. It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us at Dakota Dream, and we certainly appreciate your comments. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed with Ernie and Kathy at the Dakota Dream for 3 nights in late June. We were attending a friend's wedding, but also wanted to do some sightseeing while we were in the area. I can't imagine a better place to stay when visiting the Black Hills than the Dakota Dream. If we ever return, we would not even consider staying anywhere else!

The location is perfect. Dakota Dream is very close to Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park, and many of the other attractions in the area. We also made trips to Deadwood and the Badlands, which are a little bit farther but well within reach. It is an excellent home base for exploring all the region has to offer. However, while you are relaxing at the Dakota Dream it is very easy to forget that you are so close to all these tourist attractions thanks to the idyllic setting. The property is bordered by trees on almost all sides and feels much more isolated and remote than it really is. It is not uncommon to spot deer wandering through the "backyard" while lounging on the large deck, patio, or swing.

The Bears Den room was large and impeccably clean. The bed was also very comfortable. The whole house is very nicely decorated and has a charming "cabin in the woods" feel to it. Yet luxuries abound, including a jacuzzi tub, desktop computer, wireless internet, TV, and complimentary tea, cookies, and cold bottled water.

To top it all off, Ernie and Kathy are phenomenal hosts. They are some of the nicest, friendliest people I have ever met and they welcomed us into their home with open arms. They offered great advice on getting around the area and frequently just chatted with us while we hung around the house. Kathy's breakfasts were delicious and there was always plenty of hot coffee and great conversation. They really know how to make you feel at home.

We had a wonderful time and would definitely come back for another stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

On a trip that included the Sturgis Bike Rally, hubby and I had the opportunity to stay at the 'Dakota Dream Bed and Breakfast' in Custer, South Dakota. Ernie and Kathy, the proprietors, have an awesome home setting for a bed and breakfast. The room we stayed in 'Bears Den' had a very comfortable queen size bed with top quality linens and pillows. The breakfasts were served in a setting where we were able to look out onto the property and see wildlife (whitetail deer, birds, etc.) They have wireless internet access with a computer for the guests use, satellite television, books, and comfy couches and chairs for guests in the common area. We were very happy with the set up and will definitely go back. The location is very close to Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial and a little further to Devil's Tower National monument.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatMow, Owner at Dakota Dream Bed & Breakfast & Horse Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Dakota Dream! It was a lot of fun hearing about your ranch and the associated stories at breakfast! Hope to see y'all next Rally!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of the City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our overnight stay at Dakota dream was very pleasant. The owners, Kathy and Ernie, had a B&B in Pennsylvania but had travled many times to South Dakota. Even though they have only been there less than a year, you know that they will succeed because of the efforts they have made to their space makes it a welcoming place to stay. The breakfast was simple but delicious and the setting where you can see the wildlife and grounds was idyllic. We only wished we had more time to spend in the area. We did, however, spend some time in Custer State Park based on the owners' recommendation. We found the drive on the Needles Highway captivating.

Room Tip: Follow owners direction to get there. GPS could not find it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jaq434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had a great stay at the dakota dream.We were there for four nights and enjoyed every minute of it.The area is beautiful and the wild life was great. As for the hosts, they are the nicest people that you could ever meet. The room was perfect. The common area was great with internet and a nice tv.Coffee and tea every morning and the frig always had cold bottled water.
GREAT PLACE

Room Tip: Don't miss this woundeful bandb when in the area of Custer South Dekota
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ted b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatMow, Owner at Dakota Dream Bed & Breakfast & Horse Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Ted, thank you for such a positive review of Dakota Dream. It was a pleasure to have you folks stay with us, and we're glad you enjoyed your time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Dakota Dream was wonderful. The bed was comfortable, the atmosphere peaceful, the breakfast good. Cathy and Ernie were excellent hosts. I would really like to return someday when there is more time.

Room Tip: Everything was wonderful. Cathy and Ernie were excellent hosts and I hope to visit again someday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank karenniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
20.7 mi away
Coyote Blues Village B&B
Coyote Blues Village B&B
#6 of 12 in Hill City
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
30 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
1.0 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#3 of 17 in Custer
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Dream Bed & Breakfast & Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Dream Bed & Breakfast & Horse Hotel

Property: Dakota Dream Bed & Breakfast & Horse Hotel
Address: 12350 Moss Rock Ln, Custer, SD 57730-8303
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful log bed and breakfast situated on 20 serene, pine covered acres on the out skirts of Custer. Close to the Mickelson Trail and Custer State Park. B&B rooms with private baths. Full breakfast served. Horses welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing