We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
25
11
9
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
25
11
9
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews home away from home the cottages place to stay next morning black hills enjoyed our stay rooms are clean continental breakfast motel mattress frig adorable carpet mt attractions
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent Motel love the beauty of it at night when the lights come on and the quietness of the area is just so serene. Owner Miss Michelle is AWESOME. She's Friendly, Dynamite, and has Excellent customer service, thinks of everything to make your visit a comfortable home away from home. Enjoyed my stay, and will be returning on my next visit.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 58She
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights while on a motorcycle trip. The cottages were so cute and very clean. The new owner Michelle is making so many updates and improvements to this 1938 iconic motel to keep its charm and hospitality. Everything was just as we had hoped. We shared a bottle of wine on the swing and enjoyed our stay in Custer! Thank you Michelle! We loved it!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Gloria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019

Cabins were cute and attractive. Full house when we stayed. Single room is ok but a little cramped. Bathroom very small. A double would have been much nicer but not available when we were there. Grab and go breakfast a novel idea. Lots of choices. Would reccoment but would definitely want a double next time.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2019

We have stayed here twice this summer. We were excited to hear that it was under new management, & she does not disappoint. Beds/bedding/towels/carpet was all new & the rooms are CLEAN!! You can tell that Michelle is freshening up this iconic, local mainstay. There is really nothing negative I can say. BTW our dog Helen approves too! Little dog park, with bags to clean up after your friends. Next time we are going to make time to use their deck & baggo games. THANK YOU!!!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dagweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Owner at Chalet Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2019

Thanks so much for staying and for sharing your experience. I appreciate your business very much and am so glad you (and Helen) enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to seeing you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2019 via mobile

This is a cottage style old school motel-very cute. We had a room with one bed & it was tight with our 2 dogs & us. Everything was clean & bedding was soft. The bathroom was VERY small. The shower was a small square box & my husband kept banging into the sides when he tried to wash his legs/feet. When i sat on the toilet my face was less than a foot from the sink’s edge.

The room looks like it was frozen in 1970- i think that’s part of its motif. The room did need an airing out. There was a small TV & mini fridge/microwave as well.

The office provides a small grab & go type continental breakfast in the morning. & there are plenty of benches/tables on the grounds.

There is a grassy area for dogs too. We saw some deer there one night!

If you are going to Mt Rushmore this location is more convenient than Rapid City. Plus the motel is right by a trail that i used for morning runs.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank livi422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle L, Owner at Chalet Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2019

Thanks so much for staying with us during your recent stay in Custer. We appreciate your business and you taking the time to share your experience. We wish you wonderful travels in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews