We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise!”
Review of Dakota Cowboy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Though the interiors need to be updated, the room was comfortable and surprisingly clean. The hot breakfast was a real surprise! It was the best breakfast we've had at a motel/ hotel. Beating breakfasts at hotels that cost twice as much!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diane4Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 179 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

We liked the location in Custer - less touristy than Keystone up the road. We stayed in the newer section of the Cowboy Inn, just around and back off the street. Downtown is about three blocks away. Our room was clean and comfortable - we were a party of three with two queen beds. The hot breakfast was well stocked, although it gets crowded in the small room where breakfast is served. All in all, would recommend this hotel for a one night stopover.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank pfefmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The room was clean and well appointed. Everything was in working order. Conservation of resources was evident as towels were not all replaced each day of our three day stay. The hot continental breakfast included eggs, bacon, sausage patties, and waffles. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful in all aspects of sevice. We will definitely go there again on our next vistit to the region.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank il2spd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Convenient parking lot in front of the room. Easy to move our items. The location is near mini mart, gas station, and just a minute away from restaurants.
We stayed for 1 night and the room was clean.

Overall, it couldn't be better :)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oniman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We liked this hotel, had nice guys working. It was very clean. A good price. Around attractions that we saw the morning after. The breakfast was good and free. The shower stayed at the temperature we like. We were on our honeymoon and stayed at 7 different hotels. This was one of the top hotels we stayed at. Overall great! Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kyhayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This motel was not fully open yet, but the manager had a room cleaned and ready in under an hour. The lobby was recently renovated along with the breakfast area which had a wide variety of choices. The mattresses we had were brand new and the room was very clean.

Room Tip: If you have a large vehicle or trailer request a room on the backside. Large parking lot, we had ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Rooms were very clean and staff was friendly and helpful. Great location! Walking distance to restaurants and other local attractions. Different activities on site-croquet,basketball,swimming. Perfect if your traveling with kids. WiFi on the pool deck!

Room Tip: We had two rooms both were nice, we requested to be on the restaurant side, larger parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Custer hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Custer
Days Inn Custer
#18 of 18 in Custer
269 reviews
3.9 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#13 of 18 in Custer
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.8 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.3 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 18 in Custer
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakota Cowboy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakota Cowboy Inn

Address: 208 W Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1800 (Formerly Americas Best Value Dakota Cowboy Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Price Range: $89 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dakota Cowboy Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Dakota Cowboy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Dakota Cowboy Hotel Custer
Americas Best Value Inns Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing