We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Econo Lodge Custer
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer(Custer)(Great Value!)
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills(Custer)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Custer(Custer)(Great Value!)
$180
$163
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Buffalo Ridge Inn(Custer)(Great Value!)
$146
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area(Custer)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chief Motel(Custer)(Great Value!)
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rocket Motel(Custer)(Great Value!)
$119
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gold Camp Cabins(Custer)(Great Value!)
$145
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Hills Mile Hi Motel(Custer)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveler rating
54
71
22
8
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
71
22
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskroom was cleanstayed herewalking distance to townblack hillsthe main streetwould stay here againstreet noiseconnecting doorbakery cafehotel is in a great locationcrazy horse volksmarchmount rushmoreindoor poolbus tourrestaurants and shopslaundry facilities
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 157 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Statyed for 2 nights. Room was clean and quiet, bed was comfortable. Short walking distance to downtown Custer. Front desk man was friendly and helpful. Short drive to Rushmore and Crazy Horse memorial. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRV64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jos2000, General Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location IS great. After a long day of travelling it's great to be able to walk to dinner and the nearby shops. Come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Good experience when we first checked in. The man at the front desk was friendly. We used the pool which my kids liked because it was only 4 ft deep. However the carpet around the pool could use some cleaning and so could the pool water. We found 2 hairball clumps in the pool. Our double queen room was kind of cramped. When we pulled back our covers on the bed, one of the sheets was noticeably dirty and the other bedspread had dried pizza sauce on the back of it. The bathroom walls needed to be washed, there were dirty spots on them. We contacted the front desk about the bedding and he came to look at them he apologized and he offered to move us to another room. We then moved our family and belongings to another room across the hall. The beds were uncomfortable so we didn't sleep well. Upon checking out the next morning, the General Manager offered us a discount on our room charge and apologized for the trouble. The breakfast was lacking selection. Would probably think twice before staying at another Econolodge property.

Room Tip: Rooms are remodeled but bedding is outdated
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jos2000, General Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms. Your experience was unacceptable. The housekeeper responsible has been reprimanded. I certainly apologize again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were fortunate to get the last room available at this hotel as we took a side trip to Mount Rushmore and didn't realize is was the Sturgis Rally week!
The desk was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, comfortable and very quiet considering there were hundreds of bikers in town. The laundry facilities in the basement were great!
The location is very close to the Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse monuments as well as several small touristy towns.
We were close enough to park our car and walk down the street for dinner and shopping on the night we were there.
Our double room was about $150 for the night which is a little pricey but we were happy to find a place at all. The front desk said that they are only open for 5 months out of the year and are always booked solid for Sturgis Bike week. The surrounding hotels were all full and some had doubled their normal prices because of the high demand.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taco42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jos2000, General Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

We're so glad we could accomodate you for the Rally. It is indeed a very busy time of the year. We do our best to give great service and provide clean, appealing rooms. We take pride in our motel and appreciate our guests. Thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Room was also reserved to a family of 4 which created a mess for everyone; housekeeping failed to show up; party going on immediately behind the motel all night; billed my Visa for $596 for TWO NIGHTS. Do not stay at this motel - there are too many decent, responsible motels in town to fool with this one. I have contacted Econo Lodge but don't really expect any response. I told my Visa to not pay them anything and refuse any charges from Econo Lodge until and unless Econo Lodge gets the billing straightened out to my complete satisfaction.
We will never stay at an Econo Lodge, anywhere, ever again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winterparktrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jos2000, General Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

We tried to explain to this lady that there was a mix-up in the reservations. We gave her a 50% discount on her room which she accepted as a recompense for her inconvenience. The front desk was never notified of any "party" behind the motel. Otherwise we would have dealt with the situation.
The "charges" she is referring to are authorizations on her credit card which will disappear as HER bank releases them. She was only charged for the 2 nites she stayed (with the 50% discount). I have called her 2 times but have as yet not been able to contact her. She does not reply to my phone messages.
I am very sorry for her inconvenience but do not feel that it was in any way as severe as she makes it sound. She basically did not receive room service for one night!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here one night. Two adults and two children. The staff was very nice and helped us find things to do and see in the area. The children loved the pool. It is shallow....only 4 ft deep, but perfect for our children. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. We were there on a Thursday night. The front desk staff helped us with our wi-fi problem. The breakfast was good, the room is small, but there is an outside eating area. We were at breakfast at a quiet time and the food and space was adequate. Good value in a very busy tourist area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy0726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jos2000, General Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay. Pleasing our guests is our aim and we appreciate knowing we've achieved our goal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews