We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient..friendly..clean..we were lucky.”
Review of Econo Lodge Custer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Custer
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Convenient..friendly..clean..we were lucky.”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were fortunate to get the last room available at this hotel as we took a side trip to Mount Rushmore and didn't realize is was the Sturgis Rally week!
The desk was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, comfortable and very quiet considering there were hundreds of bikers in town. The laundry facilities in the basement were great!
The location is very close to the Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse monuments as well as several small touristy towns.
We were close enough to park our car and walk down the street for dinner and shopping on the night we were there.
Our double room was about $150 for the night which is a little pricey but we were happy to find a place at all. The front desk said that they are only open for 5 months out of the year and are always booked solid for Sturgis Bike week. The surrounding hotels were all full and some had doubled their normal prices because of the high demand.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taco42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jos2000, General Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We're so glad we could accomodate you for the Rally. It is indeed a very busy time of the year. We do our best to give great service and provide clean, appealing rooms. We take pride in our motel and appreciate our guests. Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    63
    22
    8
    2
See reviews for
63
48
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Broomfield, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Room was also reserved to a family of 4 which created a mess for everyone; housekeeping failed to show up; party going on immediately behind the motel all night; billed my Visa for $596 for TWO NIGHTS. Do not stay at this motel - there are too many decent, responsible motels in town to fool with this one. I have contacted Econo Lodge but don't really expect any response. I told my Visa to not pay them anything and refuse any charges from Econo Lodge until and unless Econo Lodge gets the billing straightened out to my complete satisfaction.
We will never stay at an Econo Lodge, anywhere, ever again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winterparktrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jos2000, General Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We tried to explain to this lady that there was a mix-up in the reservations. We gave her a 50% discount on her room which she accepted as a recompense for her inconvenience. The front desk was never notified of any "party" behind the motel. Otherwise we would have dealt with the situation.
The "charges" she is referring to are authorizations on her credit card which will disappear as HER bank releases them. She was only charged for the 2 nites she stayed (with the 50% discount). I have called her 2 times but have as yet not been able to contact her. She does not reply to my phone messages.
I am very sorry for her inconvenience but do not feel that it was in any way as severe as she makes it sound. She basically did not receive room service for one night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here one night. Two adults and two children. The staff was very nice and helped us find things to do and see in the area. The children loved the pool. It is shallow....only 4 ft deep, but perfect for our children. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. We were there on a Thursday night. The front desk staff helped us with our wi-fi problem. The breakfast was good, the room is small, but there is an outside eating area. We were at breakfast at a quiet time and the food and space was adequate. Good value in a very busy tourist area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy0726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jos2000, General Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Pleasing our guests is our aim and we appreciate knowing we've achieved our goal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms and a nice continental breakfast. Was very impressed by the lady working the breakfast, always working hard with a friendly smile. Was more expensive than some other places we saw in Custer. Biggest complaint was the pool. Was so cold we hardly used it. The kids would come out and would literally be shaking.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hammer31600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jos2000, General Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Appreciate your feedback. We were experiencing problems with the pool pump. It has been repaired and the pool is back to the proper temperature. Sorry for the inconvenience on your visit.
We are the least expensive of the chain motels in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I was very pleased with our stay at the Econo Lodge, we stayed three nights and had no problems. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and pleasant, very comfortable beds. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theirmom23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jos2000, General Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words. We aim to please and are gratified that your stay was enjoyable and "perfect"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Shade, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
709 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The breakfast wasn't too good and was extremely crowded. There wasn't enough food put out, enough access to the room, enough chairs, enough room or food altogether! The lobby area is way too small and crowded. The receptionists are lacking in customer service and consistently seem ditsy and overwhelmed. When we first arrived the receptionist was extremely overwhelmed and explained to us that she had been there for about 16 hours because of call outs. This should never happen, the staffing here seems to be awful!

The room was normal. Clean and good enough for us. We loved that they had a nice pool, though it was too small and crowded for us to frequent. The accessibility to downtown, food, laundry and games in the basement was magnificent.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kyle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jos2000, General Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We do have a snug breakfast area. I wonder if the guest knew they could eat outside or take the breakfast meal to their room. It is unfortunate that they arrived at breakfast at the time it needed to be replenished. We do our best to keep all the items stocked for our guests. We want our guests' to have a positive, restful, and enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln Park, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

stayed here for 4 days room was clean the bed was comfortable and shower worked well.
nice town walkable hotel was in the center of town. staff was good not great.
this is a small hotel. this means a small breakfast area,pool and outside sitting area.( there is a restruant 2 doors down) but at least it has these things and is close to Crazy Horse,Mt Rushmore and Custer State Park.
i have stayed in many of these small towns in the Black Hills and enjoyed this stay in the town of Custer. this is a great vacation area hope you enjoy it as much as i do. cant wait to come back.

Room Tip: no elevator at this hotel and washer and dryer is in the lower level in case you have a problem with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jos2000, General Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We appreciate your comments about our motel. Custer is a great place to vacation! Come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.4 mi away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#15 of 17 in Custer
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 12 in Hill City
246 reviews
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
0.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Custer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Custer

Property: Econo Lodge Custer
Address: 342 Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Custer 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Custer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Custer Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing