We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Econo Lodge Custer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Custer
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed in the Econo Lodge for one night while traveling through the Custer area. It was clean, the AC worked great and everything was good. The breakfast was incredible. They had french toast, eggs with vegetables, cheese and meat in them, plus the usual other items. The pool area was small and the pool was a little bit cool (according to my kids). All in all I would stay here again while in the area. It was convenient for touring the Sylvan Lake, Harney Peak attractions and had many hotels to choose from.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank J0hn40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Custer
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 151 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights, the room was clean, they have A/C, but if you want to open a window at night you can. The staff were friendly and very helpful in any questions you may have. Our kids played in the pool everynite after our site seeing. This hotel is located right across from a park, (and is only a short 2.5blocks from the Baker & Bakery Cafe, where we fell in love with.) They are located in the heart of Custer and tiny short walk to the main buisness area. The hotel also provided a list of how far a drive it was to the main big attraction in the Black Hills, I found this nice as you were able to plan your day. We would stay here again if we ever plan another trip back to the Black Hills

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Passing through and needed to stop for the night. Called a few other hotels, but needed a room on the ground floor due to an elderly passenger. Very friendly staff, beds were comfortable and the continental breakfast had a great selection of breakfast items. The only complaint is they need a bigger room to have their continental breakfast room in. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BazilNd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights on our trip through South Dakota. The staff were all friendly. Small but nice indoor pool. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable.the breakfast was good both mornings with a decent selection of warm and cold choices . The location is great and you can easily walk through town. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mopar59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The property looks OK, but... I stayed in the room with the king size bed. The room smelled like it was sprayed of a strong perfume. I needed to use the heater, which was so loud I couldn't sleep. I has a sinus headache as a result. The people were nice and the location was good in the center of town.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reg798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed here two years in a row and are motorcyclists. We really liked the location and were in walking distance to many restaurants and convenience stores. Our second-year stay was spoiled when we found out that we had been slapped with a fraudulant $200 smoking-the-room charge. Absolutely NO smoking occured in our motel room while we were there. I don't smoke and have asthma. Why they chose us to scam, I don't know. It's a shame, because the motel is nice. All I can say is beware, and have a staff member sniff your room in your presence before checking out.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jos2000, Manager at Econo Lodge Custer, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

I am very sorry someone in this guest's party smoked in our motel room and incurred a fine. She says she has asthma, but she also told me her husband smokes. She is the ONLY person that required a fine during the whole season. We are a totally non-smoking motel so we were unable to rent the room for a month due to the strong smell of smoke. For good customer relations, we later rescinded the fine.

The manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We spent 3 days in the Black Hills,and this hotel was close to every thing.We walked to restaurants,a winery,A VFW, shops and the main attractions were only minutes away by car. No hassles with traffic, crowds etc. When we discovered outr Sprint phone service does not work in South Dakota :) the desk staff had us use theirs to contact family. Thanks Pat and other's whose names escape me. Decent rates,breakfast,No whirlpool, which we could have used after day in parks but we would definately stay there again!

Room Tip: room are all about the same,motel is small,and very centrally located
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vegasviking71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Custer hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Custer
Days Inn Custer
#17 of 18 in Custer
264 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#15 of 18 in Custer
175 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Custer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Custer

Address: 342 Mount Rushmore Rd, Custer, SD 57730-1928
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Custer
Price Range: $79 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Custer 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Custer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Custer Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing