We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for convenience only”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Legion Lake Lodge

Legion Lake Lodge
Ranked #23 of 45 Restaurants in Custer
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for convenience only”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

The staff is friendly but the service is slow. The food is good, but I wouldn't drive out of the way to eat here. If you pass by while hungry and have some time to wait, then it's worth a stop. Also, don't expect a lodge as the name implies, it's more of a country diner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    37
    13
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
193 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Super Lunch , Adequate Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

While driving from one attraction to another in the Black Hills wehappened upon the Lodge anddecided to stop for lunch. The setting is wonderful and the food delightful. The server was new and it showed but he made an effort and was adequate. The soup and sandwich combinations were deligthful and the sandwiches were very tasty. The cole slaw was a pleasant surprise with the inclusion of apples. All in all a very pleasant surprise. We will be sure to revisit the lodge when we return to the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bucskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“the best lunch ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were not expecting much at this unsuspecting out of the way lodge for lunch. were ever wrong it was THE BEST lunch we have had in a long time. Fresh made home chicken noodle soup from scratch. Freshly cooked onion rings. And the best, an unbelievable Reuben sandwich. Really!
Starbucks Coffee, excellent water, great ambiance, what else is there to say. GO.

Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank latebecomesearly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
210 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Best beef sandwich of my life!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We ate here about a month ago, while on vacation in the area. The season hadn't quite started yet and most of the areas restaurants weren't open yet. We were coming back from somewhere else and decided to give the Lodge a shot. The staff were very friendly and the location was clean. The waitress suggested the chef's special fries, which were being tested by the kitchen. They were excellent. They were French fries that had a coating of various spices on them and I'd recommend asking for them; if the kitchen says they aren't on the menu, tell them to make them anyway!

We both ordered the hot beef sandwich, which is beef served on white bread, with mashed potatoes and gravy on the side. The mashed potatoes and gravy were excellent, but the beef sandwich was truly spectacular. The beef melted in my mouth and combined with the gravy and mashed potatoes made it just superb. I'm not a foodie and don't often get excited about food, but while this was simple food, it was done perfectly. I think it was one of the best meals I've had in a very, very long time.

Being able to finish our meal and then walk around Legion Lake was an unexpected side benefit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Circusdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
157 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Surprisingly great place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Visited the Lodge restaurant just before they closed for the season (check in advance, as this is primarily a summer attraction). This 1930s WPA building is made of rough timbers, and is worth seeing in its own right. Considering it was the second-to-last day open, all menu items were available. The serving staff were friendly and professional, and the food was both tasty and comforting at not a bad price. If you plan on visiting Custer State Park - which beats the pants off the neighboring Federal Parks - eat here rather than driving to Custer or elsewhere for a meal. Bottom line: I'll be back!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Food_Detective101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Legion Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing