We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average meal”
Review of Legion Lake Lodge

Legion Lake Lodge
Ranked #24 of 45 Restaurants in Custer
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average meal”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The food wasn't bad and the prices weren't bad. I think they are low on help, because the service was a little slow. My salad was really tasty and my husband liked his buffalo burger quite a bit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    37
    14
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
119 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“OK for lunch, go elsewhere for dinner”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed in a cabin nearby so ate here a couple of times. Average roadside cafe fare, nothing special. Lots of things with gravy. French fries were either frozen or undercooked. Breakfast was pretty good although the omelets were way overcooked even when I asked for mine to be kept soft. Skip the breakfast burrito -- it's tasteless. The has browns and French toast were very good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HoosierTraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha,NE
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Legion Lake and ate at this restaurant 2 days, the food was great each day, service was provided by Tabu. She did a great job of caring for I and my family. I suggest you go

Helpful?
Thank Ike1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Family Friendly Place to Eat and Shop”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stopped by the 100 year old restaurant as we arrived at our campsite late and didn't want to cook. Our attire was " camping grubby" but were greeted with a smile. Rex was our server and did an excellent job. The pizza was very good an the menu was very "family friendly" We liked it so much we went back for lunch two days later. Rex was working again and managed to remember out drink order from two days earlier. Excellent service.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank chasmofromwisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The hot roast beef sandwich is the best I have had.”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stopped here for lunch on the recommendation of a friend in Custer. He recommended the Hot Roast Beef sandwich. I owe him big time! It was fantastic! Made with pot roast and not typical oven roast beef or prime rib, it had a rich flavor, and the dark brown gravy was out of this world. Can't comment on anything else except the friendly service and reasonable prices.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TourProDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Legion Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing