We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would try to not stay here again”
Review of Days Inn Custer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Custer
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Reviewed April 21, 2010

We travelled in the off-season so didn't have a great choice of places to stay. This hotel was clean and the staff was very nice and helpful, but I have to agree that the mattress was HORRIBLE!! It was hard to get a good nights sleep as the mattress would shake everytime one of us moved. It was hard (not firm) and uncomfortable. The price was low ($57/night) and I wouldn't pay any more for this place. I'm sure this place can get pretty pricey in the season. Custer is a great place to stay, but would try to not stay at this hotel again due to the mattress alone. Breakfast was adequate, but nothing hot while we were there. I understand they have waffles during the vacation season. If this hotel replaced the mattresses, it would be a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBOGoingPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinncuster, Webmaster at Days Inn Custer, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Days Inn Custer for your recent stay in our area. I am glad that you like the location.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Staff received our commendation on the courteous, helpful, friendly manner in which they treated you, our valued guest.

• Maintenance was informed of the hard mattress in the room assigned to you and instructed to see to its repair or replacement.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at Days Inn Custer. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 269 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2009

We travel a lot, and this was the worst mattress we have ever attempted to sleep on (the carpeting would have been just as comfortable). Never in all the years, have we experienced such an old, horrible, hard excuse for a mattress. Shame on the Days Inn for not checking up on their chain's mattresses. On the good side, the front desk people were friendly, and the room was clean (except for a burned-out light). They desperately need a shower mat, because you slip all over the tub, and someone is going to slip and fall and sue the Days Inn chain (owners: are you listening?). The motel needs to be renovated, but you usually get what you pay for, and people in SD are normally very fair. This is the ONLY motel open during winter in Custer, so plan your trip accordingly, and go to the next/previous town if you want a better selection. Hopefully, they will get up-to-speed and replace the mattresses in this motel. Only then, will we return to stay and recommend the place.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoTravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinncuster, Webmaster at Days Inn Custer, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Days Inn Custer for your recent stay in our area. I am glad that you like the location.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Maintenance was informed of the hard mattress in the room assigned to you and instructed to see to its repair or replacement.

• Front desk Staff received our commendation on the courteous, helpful, friendly manner in which they treated you, our valued guest.

• I am glad that you found our hotel room clean. Housekeeping staff receives our commendation on keeping rooms clean.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at Days Inn Custer. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2009

Nothing to brag about.
Dont let go of your baggage in the parking lot or
be prepared to chase it when it rolls away.
Rooms were clean but dingy

Stayed: June 2009
Thank flatlander776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinncuster, Webmaster at Days Inn Custer, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Days Inn Custer for your recent stay in our area. I am glad that you like the location.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Management was inform about your concern.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at Days Inn Custer. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

This had to be one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in. We booked this through priceline and COULD NOT get our money back. We were there during bike week which made it even worse. We paid $169.00 per night for a hotel that was really a $19.95 hotel at best. The room was the size of a jail cell, stunk of urine and had numerous stains in the carpet. WHEN YOU FLUSHED TO TOILET WATER WOULD SPEW ONTO THE FLOOR!!!!! Seriously.... Go buy a tent and rough it before you dive into this dump.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank 59roadking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinncuster, Webmaster at Days Inn Custer, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Days Inn Custer for your recent stay in our area. I am glad that you like the location.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Maintenance was informed of the Flush and dirty carpet in the room assigned to you and instructed to see to its repair or replacement.

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at Days Inn Custer. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Outdoor pool was not filled and looked to be in state of disrepair. Staff was helpful. Heard one other guest complain that their room had not cleaned that day. Breakfast bar was good. Decent value considering that Custer is a tourist destination.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tnsilvertip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2008

We've stayed in quite a few Days Inns, but this was the worst. The remote for the TV didn't work. I went to the desk to complain but nobody ever did show up to fix the problem. We got $5 off our bill the next day. Big deal! The carpet was stained as was the only chair in the room. The continental breakfast was mediocre. The orange juice was watered down. The coffee was not worth drinking. All in all, a sad little Days Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dougwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinncuster, Webmaster at Days Inn Custer, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Days Inn Custer for your recent stay in our area. I am glad that you like the location.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Maintenance was informed of the Remote not working and stained carpet in the room assigned to you and instructed to see to its repair or replacement.

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Breakfast staff received additional training in presenting a proper breakfast.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at Days Inn Custer. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

This hotel was a little difficult to find. The room was mediocre and smelled of cat urine and had bugs. The staff wasn't pleasant nor professional. The continental breakfast was ok but the area was dirty.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barrcobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
12.3 mi away
Ramada Keystone Near Mt Rushmore
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
0.6 mi away
Dakota Cowboy Inn
Dakota Cowboy Inn
#15 of 18 in Custer
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
70 reviews
12.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt Rushmore / Keystone
12 mi away
Rushmore Express Inn & Family Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Custer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Custer

Address: 519 Crook St, Custer, SD 57730-1511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Custer
Price Range: $59 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Custer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn Custer hotel is located off Highway 16 in the beautiful Black Hills region of South Dakota. Our Custer, SD, hotel near Mt. Rushmore offers easy access to many breathtaking natural formations and attractions in the area. Start your morning on the bright side with free Daybreak continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Custer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Custer Hotel Custer
Custer Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing