We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient but close to highway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Pine Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Pine Campground
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient but close to highway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Our site was nice and convenient location. Staff was very friendly. Only downside is hearing traffic on highway. Very close to town and Custer Park. We will come back again. Lots to do in the area. No bugs.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
79
54
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We we absolutely blown away by the excellent service, wonderful site and clean facilities that we encountered at the Big Pine Campground. The owners made you feel welcome and appreciated your business. The sites are wooded and have plenty of space between each site. The bathrooms and laundry facility were very clean and conveniently located. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you're looking for peace and quiet in a clean and comfortable woodsy setting among tall pines, look no further. Ron and Angie have covered all bases in their hands-on management of this very nice park. From their warm, friendly welcome to help in setting up the RV, this young, hospitable pair is there. They provide a great, easy to read map of the campground with a short list of rules. Ron and Angie's kind, good humor even comes across in their explanation of the rules. Conveniences like individual garbage cans (each with a liner) placed at each site set Big Pine apart. The grounds are well maintained and the sites spacious. (We have a 36-ft. fifth wheel.)

We have covered 49 states and half a dozen Canadian provinces in twelve years of RV-ing. Big Pine Campground is at the top of our list of favorites, and we look forward to relaxing here again next time we find ourselves in this beautiful part of South Dakota.

Tom and Sue

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchell, South Dakota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I just got home from another great stay at big pine! As in previous years the facility is always clean, quiet and proves to always be a great home base after running around in the hills. The staff is courteous and helpful.Unlike a lot of the other campgrounds the sites are spread out so you have a reasonable amount of privacy. The prices for firewood and such at the camp store is also reasonable it's apparent that they aren't trying to rip you off with convenience pricing. It's always a sad day when we have to tear down camp and go home. We can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dandhoct28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we camped here. Angie and Ron and their staff work endlessly to ensure that everyone enjoys their campground. The campground is set off the highway making it very quiet. It is clean, the bath houses are well maintained, has a game room, laundry facilities and a small store. Mt. Rushmore, Custer State Park, the Needles Highway and Iron Mountain Road are all within a half hours drive. Great location and great service. Highly recommend Big Pine Campground

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sunjammerz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Ron & Angie made this leg of our trip wonderful. They are the most friendly people you will ever meet. The campground is gorgeous with all the trees and is quite. No trains, traffic, or planes. They are there for you whatever you may need & make a drive around at night to make sure everything is ok. The facilities are super clean just like the campground. The perfect place to stay. Highly recommended and would definitely stay again. thanks ron & angie. You have a great place.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We highly advise this campgrounds for anyone wanting the most perfect camping experience with clean restrooms/showers, playground for kids, every site amidst the pines, nice fire pits and picnic table per site, wonderful owners who see to your every need!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
2.1 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Horse Thief Campground
Horse Thief Campground
#1 of 12 in Hill City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#3 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Pine Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Pine Campground

Property: Big Pine Campground
Address: 12084 Big Pine Rd, Custer, SD 57730-7215
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want serenity and seclusion? Spacious, level, shaded sites. 50 & 30 Amp. Camper cabins. Sparkling clean showerhouses/restrooms. Wi-Fi, fire pits, picnic tables, laundry, game room, playground, horseshoes, volleyball, hiking and biking trails. Open May 20-Oct 1. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing