We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST PLACE TO CAMP TO SEE EVERYTHING IN BLACK HILLS”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Pine Campground
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We highly advise this campgrounds for anyone wanting the most perfect camping experience with clean restrooms/showers, playground for kids, every site amidst the pines, nice fire pits and picnic table per site, wonderful owners who see to your every need!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for Big Pine Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 207 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

AWESOME ......
This was our 1st stay in big pines campground & it certainly won't be our last. The sites are well spaced, large , clean , & well maintained with lot's of trees & grass. The campground is layed out very well & the laundry , bathrooms , & the showers were very clean. We are very happy with the entire experience there & can't wait the return. our stay was for 12 days ,arriving before , during, & after the Strugis rally of 2013 & we were amazed & how quiet it was the entire time .

Room Tip: top sites have a good chance of seeing deer
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Made reservations for a family vaca the w/e before the Sturgis Rally. The owner informed/reminded us that Sturgis was starting that w/e. Which we knew; however, it was kind of him to tell us as I think we may have seen many of the motorcycles that were headed there on our travels there. Campground spots were level and shaded. Relatively spaced out. Owners were very nice and accommodating. Bought some wood and the owner brought it to us within a matter of minutes. Bathrooms were clean. Nice area. Had some deer walk through the back of our camp later in the evening. I was walking around the campground and noticed what I figured was a motorcycle loading spot. I thought that was pretty clever. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I tent camped at Big Pine for 12 days in June, and left just as Sturgis was starting. Ron and Angie were fantastic! They were very helpful and attentive to any questions or issues we had (which were not many, but for example our fire pit was really deep - I mean like three feet deep, and I wanted to grill without burning down the forest, so Ron came to our campsite with bricks to put in the bottom, and checked on us a few times to make sure we were happy with the fix. Worked great!) The bathrooms, office, laundry room and game room were all spotlessly clean and the washers and dryers all worked well. We did laundry there twice during our stay. The water spigots were convenient and the water even tasted good! No metallic or sulphery taste. This was our first tent camping experience for such a long stretch and so we don't have a lot of comparison, but we left really happy with our choice to stay at Big Pine. It's back from the road far enough that you don't get all the road noise (which was especially great as Sturgis got going), and all the grounds are shaded. The tent sites seemed nicely spread out too, so we didn't feel like anyone was right on top of us. It's very family oriented and the nights were very quiet and peaceful. The location right next to Custer can't be beat. We would definitely stay here again! Ron and Angie are running a great place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiemac53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This really is a nice campground, bathrooms were decent & owners were nice.This campground doesn't have any frills, which we were already aware of. We chose it due to it's close proximity of tourist attractions & Custer State Park. They have a camp store, but it is very limited & they do not sell any perishable food. They have a very nice launry room & it is priced reasonably (in July 2013 the washers were $2 & dryers .75 cents. The one thing that would make this campground awesome is the addition of a swimming pool! In all they are a decent little campground for the budget minded family. I would definitely recommend them.

Room Tip: Lower level tent sights are closer to the road (traffic noise), but are convenient to all the amenit...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Without a doubt this is the best campground I have visited in South Dakota. And my wife and I have visited many. Awesome location and it's so quite. The staff is super friendly. The place is well kept. You can tell the owners care about the campground and the campers.
Give this place a try. You will no regret it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in a tent for 3 nights. Great location for My Rushmore, jewel&wind cave, Custer state park and Crazy Horse. Our site was near the trails and we saw deer behind us whilst having dinner. Clean bathrooms and friendly staff. Wifi decent. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melbournep2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
8.8 mi away
Horse Thief Campground and RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
2.3 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 18 in Custer
567 reviews
2.5 mi away
Custer Crazy Horse Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Pine Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Pine Campground

Address: 12084 Big Pine Rd, Custer, SD 57730-7215
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want serenity and seclusion? Spacious, level, shaded sites. 50 & 30 Amp. Camper cabins. Sparkling clean showerhouses/restrooms. Wi-Fi, fire pits, picnic tables, laundry, game room, playground, horseshoes, volleyball, hiking and biking trails. Open May 20-Oct 1. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing