We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Creekside Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Creekside Lodge
Ranked #8 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here on Easter Sunday 2013, out of season. We were checked in by the cleaner/receptionist who was great, very friendly and told us about the hotel, breakfast etc. I wasnt expecting much of this hotel but it was really great. We had a room upstairs with a balcony overlooking the park. The room was clean and had everything we needed. Because it was out of season there was no restaurant so we drove to Custer but all the restaurants were closed due to it being Easter Sunday. We ended up buying food from a supermarket and taking it back to our room and ate it on the balcony. It was fab! A really great stay and I wished we had stayed for another night. Will definitely stay here again when we are in this area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor (1ST Floor)with a blacony. Beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmwmini02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    15
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
13
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
210 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in April 2013. Creekside Lodge is located just off Route 16A (Wildlife Loop Road) and is a very modern hotel with an exterior look of an older mountain cabin. There is ample paved parking just off the hotel and there are several swipecard keyed entry doors in addition to the main entrance.

We stayed at the hotel off-season, but still received good service from the front desk staff. The room was clean and well furnished. Our room had a flat screen TV, coffee pot, fridge and microwave. While the room was accessed from an interior corridor, we had an external door that led to a small deck area that overlooked the creek and route 16A several hundred yards beyond. There were several chairs provided and we sat and enjoyed watching the deer feed during the evening and morning.

The first morning we got a continental breakfast, but the second morning we didn't. There was no-one at the desk to question quite why this was when we checked out. Strange that it was provided one day and not the next, however it was off-season.

We didn't use it, but there was a large stone fireplace in the general seating area that would have been quite pleasant during a cold night. There were two large meeting rooms, but we didn't use these either.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Circusdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Creekside Lodge, and judging from the pictures online expected a nice modern room with all the ammenities. Unfortunately the window in our room was extremely small, making the place very dark. Several thing in the room were broken, they gave us the wrong type of coffee for the coffee pot, and the comforter does not have a removable duvet - meaning its been used many times before us, and not cleaned. We aren't super picky city gals, but for the price, we expected quite a bit more. One big plus however was wildlife passing by right outside our deck, which mad it worth while for us.

Room Tip: Make sure you request your room to face the creek, not the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and 2 small kids spent 2 nights here. The room was very nice, everything was clean and working. Beds were comfortable. Front desk staff was nice at check -in and check - out. It is pricey, and for what you pay I believe we should have at least gotten continental breakfast included in our stay. The lobby looks as if it is set up for breakfast but unfortunately there isn't any. If you want to eat you have to walk over to the main lodge. My parents ate there and the service was horrible. I would go back, but really believe breakfast should be an added ammenity.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room we didn't have one but it would have been nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siciliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level Contributor
659 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

I love to sit on a balcony with a cup of coffee or evening glass of wine and there were some broken tables with no shade off of the lobby. It was too hot for that. Walked across the parking lot to perch on the State Lodge (adjacent bldg) porch and watched the bison go by. Room was nice but overpriced; however, there are no better places to stay inside of the park so you're sort of stuck. All of the people in South Dakota are very pleasant that we met in service positions and the room was clean and comfortable. Nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed in a second floor room with two queen beds. The room was very nicely appointed, very comfortable, and clean. It is a bit on the pricey side--about $200/night, but worth it in my opinion. There is a bigger mini-fridge and microwave in the room and a nice A/C unit, too. We spent two night here and were were very pleased. The room was large and comfortable for a family of four.

The front desk service was very good at check in and check out. They were quick to answer any questions we had.

The location of this hotel to the wildlife loop of Custer State Park is super. Really, the location of this place to other area attractions is good, too. You're reasonably close to Mt. Rushmore, Wind Cave, Crazy Horse, and many other things in the area.

I would definitely return to the Creekside Lodge again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clark50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Granted, at the time we were there it was one of the few places open but even if it hadn't been, it was a wonderful place to stay. It is a "hotel" on the grounds of the State Game Lodge - rooms are very large, elegant, exceptionally clean and lots of amenities. The location is very central in terms of Mt. Rushmore, Iron Highway drive, Custer area attractions (Crazy Horse) and lakes (Legion, Stockade & Sylvan), Needles Highway, Wildlife Loop & to the south - Hot Springs (Mammoth Site, Wild Horse Sanctuary, Evans Plunge, Wind Cave). We did all these things and had 3 very full & wonderful days. Can't believe we were lucky enough to be there in early April and not only have great weather but NO CROWDS. Imagine walking around Mt. Rushmore and in some places, having it all to yourself. If you can, go at this time of year (although weather could be an issue) ... if you can't, it's definitely still worth it. I would say the "State Game Lodge" area in generally (& Creekside) would still be fantastic in terms of being off the beaten path during high tourist season. Plus - BONUS - there's a beautiful little trout stream right outside the door so our teen spent endless hours pulling in brown & rainbow trout (& gently returning them to the stream). It's very "paradise" like.

Room Tip: tell them if you have a pet & they will put you in a main floor room with a walkout so you can g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank red728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
4.4 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
12.2 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creekside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creekside Lodge

Property: Creekside Lodge
Address: 13389 US Highway 16a, Custer, SD 57730-8351
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing