We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, good local beer”

Buglin' Bull Restaurant and Sports Bar
Ranked #6 of 46 Restaurants in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Family-friendly restaurant and sports bar located downtown Custer, SD. New upper deck open in 2012. Large menu has something for everyone in the family - delicious sandwiches, best buffalo burgers in the Black Hills, salads, wraps, pizza, pasta, steaks and vegetarian entrees. Our chef specializes in South Dakota wild game including buffalo, elk, walleye and pheasant. Catch your favorite team in action in our sports bar and enjoy a great lunch or dinner in our restaurant featuring a full bar and an excellent selection of microbrews and wines. Kitchen open from 11 am to 10 pm during the summer.
Kansas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good food, good local beer”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were recommended to this restaurant by our hotel (our room key gave us a 10% discount). We were not disappointed, the food and selection was very good, local beers very good. We would eat here again if passing through.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank StephieKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    403
    180
    76
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average with unfriendly waiter”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We visited Buglin Bull this evening. The waiter was not friendly at all. I ordered the vegetarian flatbread with coleslaw and red potatoes. There was a cucumber and slice of potato on the flatbread with lots of sauce. It was bread with sauce basically. Also it came with french fries. Substituting french fries for a meal that was ordered to be healthly was ridiculous. My husband had chicken fried steak, and he had to ask for the salad he was supposed to get with the meal. We travel alot and visit many restaurants. This restaurant was very disappointing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
218 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“One of the better places in Custer, but still...”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The food is tasty. I've had the Elk Burger and the club several times. They are both very tasty! Other stuff seems overpriced and service can be a bit sluggish. Buffalo stuffed mushrooms are okay. They only have an off-season menu most of the year. Still, this is one of the better places to eat in Custer.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good drinks and food”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

But the service was very slow. We had one sandwich and one appetizer and it was over a half hour plus they first brought the food to the wrong table we had to track it down. The drinks were good as was the food but wouldn't go back to slow.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rbl525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Buglin' bull”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Hostess indicated it would be a 30 minute wait or food sice kitchen was backed up, but we were seated. Server suggested an appetizer since kitchen was backed up, so we ordered an appetizer. Once we ordered dinner, it was out in 15 minutes....deceiving on time constraint.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buglin' Bull Restaurant and Sports Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing