We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
American Presidents Cabins and Camp
Ranked #23 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Mason City, Iowa
1 review
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

American Presidents Cabins was a great place to stay. The cabins were equipped with a fridge, stove, sink, t.v., our own bathrooms, bedding and towels. Loved the convenience, especially since South Dakota is under a burn ban. The pool was exceptional and the hot tub was hot! The staff was friendly and helpful. The grounds were well cared for. Centrally located, they are close to all the sights. I would recommend this underutilized facility and I will be adding it to our must stay places list.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    1
    7
    25
See reviews for
22
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The grounds are so kid friendly! A big playground, mini golf, and a pool! However the hot tub was not in full working order. The laundry room was out of order. The cabins are old and smelly. The icebox on the refridgerator was frozen over so for the 5 days we stayed there we couldn't close the fridge tightly and it dripped and dripped and dripped. The people who worked the desk were friendly and kind so I didn't want to complain. After all it was better than a tent! But for $149/ night we really expected more. We were upgraded to two attached cabins for no extra charge but I would have rather paid $75 for one cabin although they are probably worth $50/night. Custer is a great location for a SD vacation close to Mt. Rushmore, Jewel Cave, Mammoth Dig Site, and so much more!

Room Tip: Do not pay on line! Look at the rooms before you pay so you can make a good choice about whether yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redrivermama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Custer hotels

Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Great family place to stay. The cabins are named after presidents. They are somewhat rustic. The kids love to play on the boulder outcroppings that dot the property. There is a great pool. It is a short drive to most of the sites in the area.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ctnwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We arrived to find ourselves in two small adjoined cabins. Both cabins were dirty and the smell was overwhelming. After talking to the front desk, we were "upgraded" to a larger cabin. It was very old and dirty. The bed had dead bugs in it and there was a very large cobweb in the bathroom. Considering the price we paid, this has been a huge disappointment. They would not allow us to cancel the following days reservations and we are stuck here for the remainder of our vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halcyono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2012

First things first they never call you back!! I called two different times for two different questions. Left messages and they never called back! Very frustrating!! Anyway the lodge area to check in is gorgeous!! They should have put some of that money into there cabins. The front desk lady was very friendly also! We got to our cabin which was DIRTY and OLD!! unpacked everything. Husband went to take a shower no hot water and got shocked when touching the knob! Went to front desk she did upgrade us to the executive presidents cabin ( i think that's what it was called). That was alot better. Nice and roomy. Couch was dirty looking is only complaint. But the cabins and grounds need some TLC!! Pool area was nice hot tub could use some work. Would be a very nice area if things were fixed up kinda sad all those cabins and gorunds look like that!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleeptight101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arthur, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in our motorhome. No water pressure and full of rust. Restroom were very nasty. Had not Ben cleaned in awhile. Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poncho L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Wyoming
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Do not pay or stay before you LOOK at the accomodations! Way over-priced and dumpy especially in the "White House" Cabin and dirty. We were VERY disappointed.

Room Tip: Other cabins migt be better, just don't pay before you inspect. No utensils means NOTHING in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Concerned82240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Custer hotels
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
0.2 mi away
Mystic Valley Inn
Mystic Valley Inn
#2 of 2 in Custer
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Elk Haven Vacation Cabins
1.1 mi away
Calamity Peak Lodge
Calamity Peak Lodge
#11 of 17 in Custer
103 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#1 of 17 in Custer
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Presidents Cabins and Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Presidents Cabins and Camp

Property: American Presidents Cabins and Camp
Address: 25098 Forest Park Rd, Custer, SD 57730-6313
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Number of rooms: 160

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing