We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best value dinner in Custer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dark Horse Steak & Brew - CLOSED

Dark Horse Steak & Brew
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We had lunch there today and for an unbelievable $7.95 I had the best beef fillet of my life!! Cooked medium rare - to perfection. My husband had the rib eye - that was perfect and flavorful
Portage, WI
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best value dinner in Custer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Large sports bar with booths and friendly wait staff that offers 18 craft beers on tap. Happy hour is from 4 - 6 PM every day where pints are $2. They also offer specials that always includes a Filet Mignon with fries for $9.95. Baked potato or sweet potato fries are available for an extra $0.50. Try the Buffalo stew chili for an appetizer.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hubie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    32
    36
    24
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It's just "ok"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were told to order the bacon cheeseburger. After alot of driving from Denver to Custer...we were starving! When we received the burger...we soon figured out that it was a frozen patty. It was good nontheless but we were hoping that with a name like "Steak & Brew", we would have at least a fresh burger, especially for the hefty price of it! I will say that the sweet potato fries were delicious!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sherflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Great beer selection at great prices! Beer-battered mozzerella sticks were awesome as was the ribs. I'd highly recommend Dark Horse to anyone and I would come back if I could.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dark Experience! Better Options Exist...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Cattleman's and Dark Horse are right next door to each other and have the same menu. We ate at Cattleman's the first night, and then the Dark Horse two nights later. (We thought we'd try the Dark Horse because of their terrific beer selection.) We ordered the exact same dishes (a filet, the buffalo roast, chicken strips, and shrimp), but what a surprise! At Cattleman's, the filet and the buffalo roast were both cooked perfectly, as were the two kids' meals. However, at the Dark Horse, not only did it take them twice as long to prepare our food, but both the filet and buffalo were so overdone that they resembled charcoal, the shrimp was pure breading, and the chicken strips (how can you mess up chicken strips?) were burned as well. The family sitting at the table next to us apparently had the same problem and sent all of their food back. The beer selection was fabulous, which it needed to be in order to gag down the food.

Also, the bathrooms were filthy, and in the men's room only one (of three) facets worked.

or some significantly better options, try: Alpine Inn in Hill City, Cattleman's, Ruby House in Keystone, or the Blue Bell Lodge.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very tender steaks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We visited on a quick stop in South Dakota on a recent trip out west. We both got steaks and they were flavorful and SO easy to cut (no knife needed). The chocolate cake was very good but almost put me into chocolate overload. Service was excellent and attentive without breathing down your neck.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tananda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dark Horse Steak & Brew also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing