We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but Average food.”
Review of Captain's Table

Captain's Table
Ranked #22 of 47 Restaurants in Custer
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Wellington, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good location but Average food.”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stay at the Best Western and we can walk across the parking lot to this restaurant. We have eaten there twice---once in 2011 and once in 2012. Both times the food was just average. The place is always busy so many people must like it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SuzEQB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    61
    35
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very good prime rib!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This restaurant was close to the hotel where we were staying so we could walk to it. It wasn't an upscale eaterie but the prices of the meals seemed to reflect that. We were pleasantly surprised that the prime rib was so tender and tasty with very little fat. I had the smaller cut which was ample. The meals came with a salad and bread- nothing really special.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank chrisandun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, SD
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Properly cooked food”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The food was very good! They offer a "Catch of the Day" fish special which was salmon on the day we were there. It was cooked just right! The prime rib was also very good. Service was very good. The atmosphere was quiet, which was appreciated after a busy day!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phrogster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miles City, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic cuts of prime rib”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We ate at this restaurant because it was close to our motel. It opens at five so is only available for dinner. I ordered the medium size prime rib and it was quite large. The man behind us had ordered their large cut and it was quite impressive, more like a small roast. My husband had a regular steak and said his was quite good also. We enjoyed this restaurant and would definitely go back if in the area again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank arney262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We ate here because it was listed in the AAA guide. The service was fine. The food itself was not very good. I had trout and it was not fresh and overcooked. Prices are average for a tourist town, which is to say overpriced for what you get. My son got a steak which was average supermarket beef, although cooked properly. My daughter had pasta with tomato sauce, also average. I'd go elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HoosierTraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Captain's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing