We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Calamity Peak Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills(Custer)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer(Custer)(Great Value!)
$75
$70
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 Custer/Crazy Horse Area(Custer)(Great Value!)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rocket Motel(Custer)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gold Camp Cabins(Custer)(Great Value!)
$105
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveler rating
74
34
2
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
34
2
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchencuster state parkblack hillsseparate bedroomwild donkeysan updateking bedspacious roomnice settinga great stayshort driveconvenient locationspent nightswildlife loopcoffee makereach morningneedles highway
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 114 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

As part of our honeymoon, we visited The Black Hills area and I had previously found and reserved a cabin here. We were delighted with the cabin, the owners, and the location, which was very "central" to all the main attractions we wanted to see. The cabin was clean, comfortable, well furnished, and the owners absolutely welcoming, accommodating, friendly, and hospitable. It was so nice to be able to shop/cook our own meals-and loved relaxing by our little BBQ in the evening and have a glass of wine (local DakotaMart had a great selection!). We have nothing but wonderful memories of our little "honeymoon" cabin. :)

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank fotokrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed here in May with a group of 12 family members. The rooms/cabins are very neat and clean but could use some updating. I hear there are new owners starting this summer so maybe they will tackle this. The cabin my brother and his family stayed in was very small (it's the cabin at the very top of the hill) with an extremely small bathroom, but other than this, no complaints. The owner did ask my nephews (who are 7 and 2) not to move around any rocks in the stream, which I thought was an odd request since it is a stream with moving water in it and kids like to play with rocks, but whatever. We stayed here for a week and our room wasn't cleaned every day like I've usually had when staying places. We did get fresh towels and trash taken out every day however. There is no AC either, so if this is a problem for you here's an FYI.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TBJ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We live in eastern South Dakota so a 3 day trip to the Black Hills is something we do often. We've stayed in many of the hotels in the area, but once we came to Calamity Peak Lodge we knew we'd found our "home away from home"! Small and rustic, very affordable, spotlessly clean, friendly manager and staff (they offered to loan us fishing poles for the trout stream right outside our door), and the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. Early in the morning after we arrived, we got coffee in the office and went and sat on our front porch. A doe with twin newborn fawns came walking along the stream. The doe stopped and seemed to be sizing us up to see if we were dangerous, then she put her head down to nibble on some of the grass growing along the banks. The fawns were playing and jumping around about 8 feet from our front door. So quiet you can hear the wind whispering through the trees. Close to everything and right at the edge of Custer State Park and the National Forest. We're going back again this summer and won't consider staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: Many choices of room size and amenities, from very small and basic to a large stone and timber cottage that easily sleeps 8.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marty9332014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

I spent three nights at Calamity Peak Lodge, and was impressed with how clean it was. The rooms are very small even for one person, but considering the rates I was very pleased with the accommodations. I wish the lobby had been a little more inviting. Overall, I would return.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deeda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We loved this little place. It was snowing and we were tired of driving. We past this place so I looked it up on the internet. The prices were good. Most places in the hills are ridiculous prices.
It was cozy and warm.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaisertire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews