We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They asked us if we needed forks...”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Frontier Grill

The Frontier Grill
Ranked #19 of 45 Restaurants in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Frontier grill has great home made food , outdoor seating and family friendly. We are open late.
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“They asked us if we needed forks...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stopped in for a meal and was VERY disappointing. The server ask us if we needed forks for or cole slaw served in all 3 of our baskets. Do they do slaw shots here??? We are very use to eating finger/bar food but draw the line with cole slaw and fingers... The cod was dry and palatable only with BBQ sauce. My children's chicken strips were tasteless. The rib special was bone dry and gave my wife an upset stomach minutes later. My son's mini corn dogs smelled like old fryer grease. We did not enjoy any bar drinks. Many 5-6 beers would have helped the meal...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    38
    16
    3
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rip Off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

People were great at first. Food was good but tiny the burger was a hair bigger than a slider. They had a very faded sign ot front saying "Burger baskets $5.50 from 11a to 5p" so we went in and ordered burgers from the section of the menu labeled Burger Baskets. After getting the check and questioning the full price charges i was informed that it was only the plain hamburger basket that was the special price. I said OK, but thought thanks for telling us that after we got the check. After all we asked about the special before we ordered. As i was walking out, the waitress, bartender, and cook were talking crap about the stupid tourist questioning the bill, loud enough for me to hear, thanks for that folks. All in all it felt like a scam to get more money out of "stupid tourists" (their words not mine)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deadwood, South Dakota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“People are so friendly...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

People are so friendly...Barb the owner, wandered up to make sure we were satisfied and Lisa,waitress and bartender went. Newly moved to this location has lots of space and many tvs to accommodate sports and regular tv. Food was tasty

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock, NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always excellent!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The ribs are back for the summer so I had to have some and I was right they were even better than last year!!! Definitely a must stop for awesome food and service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msgt7011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lovelovelove”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great burgers. Great service. We had a wonderful experience and would come regularly if we lived in the area. It's a definite must if you are in town!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megbu1l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Frontier Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing