We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there with a family.”
Review of The Frontier Grill

The Frontier Grill
Ranked #17 of 45 Restaurants in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Frontier grill has great home made food , outdoor seating and family friendly. We are open late.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't go there with a family.”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We walked in for a late lunch and walked right back out. It smelled terrible. Not a place where we wanted to eat with our teenagers.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pinky777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    39
    16
    3
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They Aim To Please....”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is one of few places I've been to that can cater to just about any demographic at the same time. The service is sociable, friendly & quick. Even when there was a large crowd, we didn't mind waiting a few minutes to get anything we needed because we could see that the staff was working hard to take care of everyone. Our family ate here for several meals while in town and everything we tried was fantastic! There were large groups of motorcycles, families with children; both younger & older and the overall atmosphere was nothing short of pleasant. The burgers really are fantastic and we couldn't help but come back once we got a glimpse (and smell) of the fabulous ribs that were being pulled straight off of the smoker. Not only do I suggest you check this place out if you're in town, but I will be sure to come back every time we are in the area. Don't miss out on the gorgeous outdoor seating available in the front! Great taste & very economical!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MOM03BBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curtice, Ohio
Level Contributor
370 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“GREAT local joint that makes an out-of-town family feel welcome!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stopped in for dinner after reading reviews here and now wish I would have done ALL of our meals at this spot! It's a locals place with super burgers, cold beer, and tremendously nice people. The service was outstanding, the food was good, the price was right, and when we left, even the locals sitting at the bar wished my family and I a nice evening and hoped we would come back soon. Kids are 7 & 8 and felt perfectly comfortable being there at 6pm. Would have liked to come back late-night without kids!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PfeiffersOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Best Burger in town - It's true, It's really true!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We ate here and my husband said it what the best burger he had ever had - even besting our favorite local spot in Plano, IL. I had the fried cod and it was also good.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank sueme3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A dive, but good food.”
Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

This place is obviously the local honky tonk (decent dance floor and prominent bar), but the food is good and the service is good. It is not gourmet by any stretch, but fresh and tasty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OurWander-FilledLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Frontier Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing