We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“diamond tucked away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beaver Lake Campground
Ranked #7 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at this place for a week and the owners were great. We stayed at site #5, which i think is one of the best. Descent laundry facility and the restrooms were always spotless. Very quiet

Room Tip: i did not stay in a room i stayed in a travel trailer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank red2sedan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 132 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

Was upset when I first saw our space #1 right next to office building but it turned out to be great. The front of camper looked down the hill and the bunnies came out to see us every morning and evening. After seeing other campgrounds in area this is much better. In the trees, with plenty of places to walk and a really big clean pool. The outdoor sinks to wash your dishes in were a plus. Our Good Sam discount was not figured right, but they caught it and gave us a credit we used for firewood..make sure you check your bill. Will definitely stay again. If you need a kennel for the day, try Lynn's boarding. She was sweet and our small dogs did fine.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This place is great- wild bunnies, water slides and more! It's a relaxing place to be with lots of entertainment close by- very convenient to all the Black Hills' top destinations and a cute little town full of restaurants and amusement for the kids- if you can get them away from the water slide at the campground, that is!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keelynn414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed at the campground for four nights in one of the larger cabins. It was a very clean and well maintained. The staff was very accommodating. I highly recommend it.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank Wilderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

After speaking to many area campgrounds I am more than glad that I chose Beaver Lake Campgrounds it definitely is the way campgrounds should be – Clean well kept by very the friendly and caring owners and staff
The level of service that we received was that which is usually associated only with a Five Star hotel or resort!
From the outset Max and Cindy over extended themselves and went out of their way to accommodate us and make us feel special this made our trip to the Custer area a huge success!
The new Rec Hall is very spacious, beautiful, and tastefully designed perfect for any group or function .

Room Tip: Speak to MAx or Cindy they are very honest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Samdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

A beautiful place...however...the kids were most excited about the waterslide ...which we found out was an extra fee!

Since the waterslide is so prominently displayed in the literature we assumed it was a park amenity...wrong!

We bought the slide tickets, however the kids only used half the tickets (pool is open 9 to 9...what isn't clearly stated is that the waterslide closes at 7).

The kids were ready for the waterslide the next morning before we left for Mount Rushmore. When we went to get each kid more waterslide tickets we were informed "waterslide is only available from 1pm to 7pm...and only if there are five paying customers."

Since it was the waterslide that clinched our selection of this RV park we felt very "bait & switch"ed...the kids were very disappointed and we left with unused slide tickets.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mczony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a week before the Sturgis Rally. The rates were 38 for water and power per night. Restrooms and showers were clean and aside from some dogs barking and the highway traffic this was a very quiet campground. Lots of shaded spots, a small store for RV supplies, laundry. It was a 3 mile drive into Custer for restaurants. The owners were very helpful and were genuinely interested in seeing that your stay there was enjoyable. This isn't a party place and the owners make sure that quiet time is quiet time. This campground is more for the RV unit than the tent set. If you camp in Custer in August make sure your gear can handle some wet weather as it can get wet there in a hurry..but it normally doesn't last long.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maltrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
1.0 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#13 of 18 in Custer
36 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Horse Thief Campground and RV Resort
3.5 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
3.5 mi away
Custer Crazy Horse Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaver Lake Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaver Lake Campground

Address: 12005 US Highway 16, Custer, SD 57730-7223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaver Lake Campground has great rates, family camping and spacious, level, shaded & open sites to suit any size RV or tent. All sites have picnic tables and fire rings, RV and cabins also has access to 26 free cable tv channels and tent sites have 10' X 12' rain shelters, mostly shaded and some with electric. Don't have a tent or RV? Then choose from our range of 8 Cabins all with a/c, heat and Cable TV or our 3 native style Tipis. We have Free DSL & Wi-Fi, Heated Pools, and playground for the kids but there is a fee for the Waterslide for all guests. We are open March 15 through November 10th and are within 30 minutes of all the natural beauty and attractions in the Black Hills of South Dakota including Mt. Rushmore! Our location is 3.5 miles west of the city of Custer on W. Highway 16. Pets are welcome at our campground as long as they don't disturb our other guests and are not aggressive. We are Good Sam, AAA, Woodalls and Best Parks of America accredited. Meet the Business Owner: Max and Cindy H. WE purchased this campground in June 2001 and have made continual improvements since that time. We live and work at the campground every day throughout the season. You will see Max on a golf cart handling maintenance issues and Cindy in the office or store helping check in customers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beaver Lake Campground Hotel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing