We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Bell Resort is truly "As comfortable as an old boot"”
Review of Blue Bell Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Bell Lodge
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Blue Bell Resort is truly "As comfortable as an old boot"”
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Blue Bell Resort's motto is "as comfortable as an old boot" and it truly is. In all our travels this resort is our favorite. We have camped here as well as stayed in their cozy, quaint little rustic cabins. We love the serene atmosphere and surrounding beauty. We always know we will experience wildlife in the campground or right out the door of the cabin. Cabins are comfortably decorated and clean. Campground has beautiful sites and a very clean bath house. No swimming pool but a short hike will take you to French Creek where our kids enjoy wading in the cool, mountain stream. Love sitting around the cabin's fire pit at night taking in the sounds and scents of the rustling pines above, as well as an occasional snort from the horses stabled nearby, and star gazing. The cute little general store has some basic supplies as well as souvenirs. The lodge has wonderful meals in a log lodge atmosphere dining room. We have thoroughly enjoyed the ranger presentations and love the fact we can worship at the open air chapel near the main lodge. Blue Bell's Chuckwagon Dinner has a good meal in a beautiful canyon with western entertainment. Only disappointment is the covered wagons are not horse-drawn. In our teenager's opinon, it is a little hokey, which it is, but good, clean fun. It gave my husband and I an opportunity to embarass out kids for once! Haha! The horseback riding trail rides is the best in the Hills, IMO. All in all this resort has a true out west flavor .

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mountainmama52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    61
    18
    13
    7
See reviews for
122
75
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Our family of 6 had a housekeeping cabin with two double beds and a set of bunk beds. Had a full bath, ac, satellite tv, picnic table, fire grate. It was a beautiful location and I'm so glad we were there. I saw many of the places I checked out when looking for lodging back in April while driving around durning our trip. I was extremely thankful that we ended up at Blue Bell!

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank leechlake6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2009

I absolutely loved everything about the Blue Bell Lodge & Resort! We stayed one night and then decided to book a 2nd night because we enjoyed it so much! It's in a great location in the middle of the incredible Black Hills, and there was so much to do! The restaurant at the Lodge served delicious meals both days, and the service was always superb! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisymae7903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2009

we stayed here in september 2008. our cabin was beautifully decorated, beds were fine, so was the bathroom and outside area. one morning we woke up at 7 am, went outside and there was a buffallo standing next to us! deer crossing our way, fabulous. the restaurant served excellent food and staff was very friendly. we'd go back every year if we could.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
186 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2008

Our cabin in the woods was fun. We enjoyed our 3 nights in the cabin. It was big and had everything we needed. We went to the store and I appreciated the coffee pot and sat outside every am and enjoyed the fresh air and the beautiful trees and rabbits.....Our cabin had air conditioning which never seemed to turn off. Custer State Park is so big and beautiful and we so enjoyed the Jeep Safari. Next time we want to visit Mt. Rushmore we do plan to stay in Hill City or Keystone(Live and learn), tho0 the drives were breath taking.... Our cabib (15) was great....

  • Liked — beautiful scenery
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Teach1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
7.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
9.5 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
7.4 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
7.0 mi away
Rocket Motel
Rocket Motel
#3 of 17 in Custer
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Bell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bell Lodge

Property: Blue Bell Lodge
Address: Custer State Park, 25453 Highway 87, Custer, SD 57730
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Bell Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historical lodge offering horseback riding and camping trips through Custer State park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Bell Hotel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing