We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Great drive!

This is a great drive to take just for the rock formations alone! Throw in scenic views, rock... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
PegiSioux
,
Gilbert, Arizona
Beyond gorgeous!

What an amazing part of the Black Hills and the drive through the Needles highway was amazing, the... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
SiandraW
,
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Read all 1,498 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Custer
from $295.00
More Info
from $249.00
More Info
Reviews (1,498)
Filter reviews
1,453 results
Traveler rating
1,187
234
25
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,187
234
25
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rock formations narrow tunnel custer state park beautiful drive black hills hairpin turns take pictures tour bus take your time one lane tunnels mountain goats pull over every turn cathedral spires beautiful scenery sylvan lake south dakota
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,453 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

Everyone stops here so lots of traffic in a small parking area. A man had climbed to the top & rappelled down the side which was cool to watch. There is a scenic overlook and it's right by a very narrow 1-way tunnel through the mountain. Stop & enjoy it for awhile, but must be a huge traffic jam in the summer. Don't be in a hurry. If you are in a larger vehicle or motor home, they won't let you go this way & you'd get stuck anyway.

Thank Jeana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

This is just another interesting feature on a road full of them. It's an interesting stop with several things to look at.

Thank mrpbody2482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great drive to take just for the rock formations alone! Throw in scenic views, rock tunnels, autumn foliage, and snow dusting everything and becomes a wonder. If you are in Custer State Park, visit every corner of the park, but do not miss this drive!

Thank PegiSioux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What an amazing part of the Black Hills and the drive through the Needles highway was amazing, the scenery superb! You will need to stop so many times its crazy just to take photos.

Thank SiandraW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The trip on the Iron Mountain road was amazing too begin with, and then we came upon this. Got some great photos to try to recall everything we saw.

Thank wrpupkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This drive is gorgeous. Very close quarters thru tunnels and turns. You really need to go slowly and enjoy the views. The Wildlife Loop Trail was abundant with herds of bison and some burros. I expected that was "normal," but when I spoke with a couple of park rangers, I was told that some people can drive through the loop and never see a bison! We were very fortunate.

Thank Donnasdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My 5 and 7 year old were bored on this drive but my mother-in-law loved it. We went on a day where it looked like it was going to snow any minute so that added a little intensity to our already intense drive!

Thank Mindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rock spires along the Needles Highway are incredible. The tunnels are fun! And the Needles Eye feature is not to be missed! Try to pick a time when there are fewer crowds on the highway. Cost to drive the highway is $20 per vehicle (included in Custer State Park pass good for seven days). A bit steep just for the Needles Highway, but worth it if you love beautiful scenery.

Thank Raintree_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was a wonderful car trip with the most wonderful views. Loved it. But I would advise people to read the road signs, because we saw that RVs that had problems passing.

Thank Torunn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you go on Iron Mountain Road at a time that is less busy, you will be able to stop, park, and see the Needle's Eye. It is a very interesting structure and looks EXACTLY like the eye of a needle! Per the park ranger present when we stopped, this is eroding so that in about 10 years it may not look at all like the Needle's Eye! You can also rock climb in the area. (The kind you do with no equipment!!)

Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews