We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenery, small room”
Review of Sylvan Lake Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sylvan Lake Lodge
Ranked #10 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Custer
aberdeen, sd
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery, small room”
Reviewed September 5, 2008

We spent two nights at the lodge so that we could enjoy beautiful Sylvan Lake. This was our first time at the lodge. The lounge area is beautiful, but the restaurant could use a little facelift. Restaurant a little overpriced. Service at the lounge was not great - they were not busy at all but we waited 15 minutes for mediocre service. Must have had a busy Saturday night in the restaurant becuz the lounge was filled w/dirty dishes and they sat there for quite awhile. Lounge is very comfortable to relax in and nice terrace for your morning coffee. The lodge is old and dated, but the room was very nice and the bed very comfortable. The room was just too small. We will stay at the lodge again but will request a double room and won't eat at the restaurant. Black Hills have many other great places to eat that are reasonably priced and provide much better service.

  • Liked — comfortable bed
  • Disliked — tiny room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank amillerAberdeen_Sd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    113
    72
    50
    23
See reviews for
118
134
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

We are a family of 6, with 4 young children. We loved our stay in the Lodge. It is close to beautiful Sylvan Lake and has a view of Harney Peak out the back deck of the Lodge.

The staff provided excellent, personal service. Our room was also spacious (cannot often say that with a family our size). The dining room food and service was excellent. And, in contrast to another reviewer on this site, they do have children's menus. All of us enjoyed the food.

The Lodge has easy access to Sylvan Lake. There are walking paths to the lake, but with our kids' ages and the "stuff" we needed to carry to the lake to swim, we drove. Warning, the lake water is freezing!

You are also right next to Custer State Park with some of the most beautiful scenery and wildlife anywhere in the Black Hills.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DelawareKSmitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln Nebraska
Level Contributor
201 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

First of all, Sylvan Lake and the surrounding area has one of the most scenic and unique landscapes of anywhere I have ever been. Giant Rock out croppings can be seen everywhere ranging in size from a few feet to several 100 feet high. My family of 14 stayed in 2 of the larger cabins. They're located within a few 100 ft of the lake. Each cabin had a complete kitchen and flat screen TV. The rooms and beds were very clean and housekeeping made a visit each morning we were there. My step son and I went on a hike on one of the many trails around Sylvan Lake. The Sunday Gulch Trail was fantastic. It was a loop and took about 3 hours and ALOT of hard work. If you're not in great shape, do not attempt this trail. This trail is also not for children under the age of 10. Sylvan Lake is located within minutes of all the great attractions including Mt. Rushmore, a couple caves, and Crazy Horse. Our overall experience at this estblishment was flawless.

  • Liked — The beautiful landscape.
  • Disliked — Having to leave.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Otter2269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neshanic Station,NJ
Level Contributor
227 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2008

We stayed in the cabins of the Sylvan Lake Lodge.
Many of them are within a one minute walking distance of the Lodge.
The logde common area has a small bar and a very high ceiling with specious feeling. Fine to relax when it is too cold, dark or wet outside. Otherwise the Sylvan Lake area is too nice to spend time in the Lodge. The common area walls are decked by game heads. The Lodge has a wrap around outside paved balcony like area
The sleeping section of the cabins is spacious and feels like a Master Bedroom. Comfortable beds. The bathroom is so small one cannot change its mind. The shower is fit for short people.
The cabins are fit for sleeping four people, yet the bathroom section is barely fit for one person. Towels were fresh yet too old to be plush.
Cabins have an outside inground or raised firepit. Some grilling is possible. Bring your own wood or buy at General Custer's store. The cabin has an internal functional fireplace, yet one bed stands so close to the fireplace we did not trust lighting it.
The dining room of the Lodge is fine. See write up under Restaurants.

  • Liked — Lodge great room and dining
  • Disliked — Cabin minuscule bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GoeieWitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2008

We wanted to stay somewhere in the Black Hills where we would be close to Harney Peak. Came across this reosrt on a web site. Both the resort and the staff were great. The setting of the resort in the Hills was wonderful. The only bad thing was the snow when we left. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank reptma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2008

We arrived at the end of May expecting a beautiful view. Unfortunately, the temperature dropped the day we arrived and we found ourselves in a foggy blizzard and never were able to see any of the surrounding scenery.

Dinner was suprisingly poor for a meal of this price. The mushroom/buffalo plate was missing the mushrooms and was served without butter/sour cream as requested with the baked potato. Also, the restaurant personel could be heard in the back talking about their "parties" during dinner.

We booked a cabin and were once again disappointed as the heater was much too small to keep the cabin at a tollerable temperature even with a fire burning in the fireplace all night long. Be prepared to find a lot of wood (or pay $3.50 for a small bundle) if you book a cabin. Calls to the front desk were met with a simple sorry and that nothing could be done.

Management told us the next day the cabins were in the process of being retroftted with new heaters and that this was only an issue when it is cold out. These cabins would probably have been more fun if it wasn't so cold the day we stayed there.

  • Liked — Excellent location
  • Disliked — Very cold cabin
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PDO01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Custer hotels

Tarrytown, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2007

We stayed at the Sylvan Lake Lodge for a family trip to Mt. Rushmore area. The lobby of the lodge has a beautiful rustic ambience. Our room was clean and spacious, although the furnishings were a little outdated. One thing to note, we thought this would be within walking distance to Sylvan Lake for the kids, but it was not (at least not for a family lugging diaper bags and 2 kids). Nevertheless, Sylvan Lake was a five minute drive, and really quite a beautiful place to take a swim after a morning of sightseeing. The Lodge really made us feel a part of the Black Hills, but I would say the drive can be inconvenient to get to "civilization". The Lodge is really high up in elevation, and the drive is beautiful, but a little long. The restaurant had good food, but was a little bit "fancy" for a family with young children. This also meant that we had to take at least a half hour drive to get to an eating establishment, unless we ate $30 "buffalo tenderloin medallions" at the hotel. The food was delicious, but I would have preferred a simpler option. I guess I would say I would have loved this place as a young couple with no children. We saw a lot of young couples and retirees. I think this place is more suitable for "adults only" travel.

  • Liked — beautiful area
  • Disliked — lack of family-friendliness
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TarrytownMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
9.6 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
7.6 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 14 in Keystone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvan Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvan Lake Lodge

Property: Sylvan Lake Lodge
Address: 24572 Sd Highway 87, Custer, SD 57730-5201
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvan Lake Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This accommodation is located on Custer State Park's Sylvan Lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sylvan Lake Hotel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing