We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Sylvan Lake Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sylvan Lake Lodge
Ranked #8 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Not as advertised. Lodge is up on a hill, NOT near the lake. You can't even see the lake from the lodge. Room was very small, you could hardly move around in it. We like rustic, but not cramped.
Customer service....we stayed there for 3 days, and never got a hi, or smile from staff. Very unfriendly. Ask for directions, and got "I don't know". Didn't offer to ask someone else.
Dining....staff in the dining room were not friendly either. Very poor service, however the food itself was great.
Love the area, just not Sylvan Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bearturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvanLakeLodge, Manager at Sylvan Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Bearturtle, thank you for your response about your stay at Sylvan Lake Lodge. We’re sorry that you were misinformed about the location of the lodge but we’re not exactly sure where you saw that we are a lake front property. We advertise that we are close to Sylvan Lake and our General Store is right by the lake but we don’t claim that our lodge is a lake shore property. As far as your customer service complaint we’re sorry that you felt like our staff is unfriendly. It is a bit of a shock to us because we have always been complimented on our staff. We thank you for your review and we hope to see you again sometime in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 376 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

Dining review: This is a beautiful property in Custer State Park. We tried to get a room but they book early-location , location....we settled for eating lunch in their dining room and after the lunch, we were grateful that we were not staying. The food was Ok to average, pricey for the area and the service was exceptionally slow and spotty. That being said, there were many people with families enjoying themselves since they don't seem to rush you out-mainly because it took nearly 3 hours for a buffalo steak salad, a turkey melt and a cheeseburger to appear. We saw many families who arrived before us still waiting for food when we were finally leaving. The staff apologized right and left and seemed to be having a staffing issue. It is a somewhat remote location to stay and so one would probably have to utilize the lodge food service if one was in the hotel. In the end, it was fine for lunch but not our favorite stop.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Colleslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvanLakeLodge, Manager at Sylvan Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

colleslaw, thank you so much for your response, it helps a lot when looking to improve our facility. We’re sorry that the service in our restaurant was not up to your expectations. It is our goal to provide every customer with the same effective and efficient service that we know we can provide. We are constantly growing as a company and we hope that you return sometime soon so we can show you how hard we are working to improve. Thanks again for your response, it is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was our second visit to the Sylvan Lake Lodge. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The lounge area with stone fireplace and lodge decorations was a great place to hang out. The lake is fantastic. Kayaking, fishing and swimming (COLD water!!) the kids loved it. Great hike around the lake that is easy enough for the kids but also can pick up trail to Harney's peak for a more challenging hike. The dining area is pretty with great views but just average food. Ate dinner one night and breakfast one morning. The young staff at the front desk were very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosemaryA646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvanLakeLodge, Manager at Sylvan Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Rosemary A, your review of Sylvan Lake Lodge brings us great joy! It’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests! This area is truly amazing and the pleasure of having a resort in the middle of it to host our guests is beyond words. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you at Sylvan Lake Lodge soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My review is strictly the dining, not lodging experience. In October 2012, my husband and I ate lunch at Sylvan Lake dining room, and my husband was ill shortly after. He thought the sandwich was less then fresh, and we wished he had reported it at the time. We gave them the benefit of the doubt, since it was the end of their season. In July 2013, we returned for Sunday breakfast. Extremely limited choices, how can a breakfast buffet fail to have fresh fruit except for an orange? We notice we were the only ones there, and know why. We have had lovely breakfast options at Blue Bell and State Game Lodge. Three years ago, the same meal at Sylvan was much better. They need to look at the way this restaurant is managed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Hittentheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvanLakeLodge, Manager at Sylvan Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Hittentheroad, whether good or bad, receiving reviews from our guests about their stay here is always appreciated. We are constantly improving and know how our guests feel make that much easier. It is really disappointing to hear that your food here was not up to par with your expectations. We assure you that were are doing our best to improve all aspects of the lodge and we hope that you give us another chance to prove just that. Thanks again for your response!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The lodge is everything you'd expect...rustic, somewhat spartan, staffed in large by young student types. This is called ambiance, not resting on laurels. The main room is high ceilinged, with fireplaces and wonderfully comfortable chairs in which to read or rest after a hike. I could have done without the mounted animal look, but again as it should be decorated. The veranda is special. One can eat, drink or just hang out, staff bring out heaters if it is too chilly. The room we had was basic, with a sparkling clean, renovated bathroom. The screened windows all opened to let in the crisp, clean air. The lodge is central to all that the park offers. The vibe is younger and more family oriented than the Coolidge Game Lodge, which sits directly on the main road loop. Sylvan Lake Lodge has a much woodsier location. The fairly easy hike around the lake itself is truly beautiful, with more difficult hikes branching off for those who want more of a challenge. All that being said, I will agree with the reviewers who had issues with the dining room. It is not as bad as they would have you believe, but it does need management to deal with seating and food flow issues. It appeared to be more of a kitchen as opposed to server issue, but it needs to be attended.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacki1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvanLakeLodge, Manager at Sylvan Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Jacki1950, thank you so much for your review! It brings us great joy to hear back from our guests that they enjoyed their stay so much. This area is something truly beyond words!! The scenery is surreal and the peace and serenity of the Black Hills is incomparable to anything else in the world. Again we appreciate your feedback and we hope you have you as our guest again in the near future!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Before a day of rock climbing and hiking we stopped in the lodge for breakfast. Definitely overpriced and below average. I would look for alternatives before dining there again. A bowl of cold cereal from the general store would have been 10x better

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kadorto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvanLakeLodge, Manager at Sylvan Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

kadorto, thank you for your review! It’s always nice to hear back from our guests, pleased or unpleased. Your complaints weren’t exactly specific about what was wrong with the breakfast so it makes it difficult to fully know why your meal was below average for you but I assure you that we are constantly improving and we hope to see you again in this beautiful area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We rented a cabin for four nights and really enjoyed our stay. As far as cabins go it was clean and a treat to have daily maid service.( I'm not a camper so this is as rough as I want to get. If you want new stay in a chain hotel.) The trail heads are right there just beyond Sylvan lake with Needles highway down the road.

Room Tip: No pool but what a great refreshing mountain lake for swimming. FYI: As far as hikes go, I thought...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvanLakeLodge, Manager at Sylvan Lake Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Joni F, it’s a great pleasure to hear your feedback about your stay here! The location is beyond all words and as I’m sure you found out, a picture just can’t do justice. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
4.2 mi away
Mount Rushmore Resort & Lodge
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
9.5 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#13 of 18 in Custer
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 13 in Keystone
963 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
2.4 mi away
Harney Camp Cabins
Harney Camp Cabins
#11 of 13 in Hill City
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvan Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvan Lake Lodge

Address: 24572 Sd Highway 87, Custer, SD 57730-5201
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvan Lake Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This accommodation is located on Custer State Park's Sylvan Lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sylvan Lake Hotel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing