We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Sylvan Lake Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sylvan Lake Lodge
Ranked #9 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed in one of the remodeled lodge rooms in July for two nights. It is very spacious and had been newly remodeled and had a nice balcony overlooking the lake and a large bathroom with separate sink. Make sure to specify that you want a room in the new addition of the lodge, all those rooms are new.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
There are newer reviews for Sylvan Lake Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 363 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

Beautiful old cabin. Great location for hiking in Custer State Park. We had a very nice meal at teh main lodge. The lounge at the main lodge is a wonderful place to sit and have a drink with old western decor.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tosa5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were really disappointed in the service at this hotel. Yes, it's in a great location, but I would not recommend staying there.

We stayed two nights, and for both evening meals, and breakfasts, there was a long delay, so much so that we discussed ordering our breakfast the night before in the hope that it might be served reasonably quickly. (we didn't in the end!) We were going hiking and were in the restaurant when it opened in the morning, thinking that we would be out quickly. That didn't work either. The bill for breakfast from the restaurant was not available at the reception when we wanted to check out, so we paid what we knew about by cash, and agreed that the rest could be taken by credit card, when the bill came through. Later in the morning on returning from the hike, the bill was still not through, but eventually was sorted. By this time, we were running late for the rest of the day's activities. My husband didn't notice that an extra $5 had been taken from the card for breakfast.

On return home, I noticed the discrepancy. I have now emailed them twice to ask why, and for my money back - no response at all!! So, Sylvan Lodge management, if you are reading this, please return my money. Yes, it's only $5, but it's the principle that matters - oh, AND THE SERVICE!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank countrygirluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Upon reading bad reviews, it should be explained that there are a few "old" rooms in the lodge that you do not want to stay in. The rest of the lodge rooms are gorgeous - newly and very tastefully done. We had a room with 2 queen size beds, a little patio, a really nice comfy lounge chair with ottoman in the corner. Food in the GORGEOUS dining room was impressive. Views from the dining room are wonderful. We paid $129 per night during off season (April). There weren't many other people there which made our stay more enjoyable, and dining room service was probably better than it would be if the place was packed. No, you can't see the lake from the lodge, but the views are still spectacular. Very comfortable bed, squeaky clean room and bathroom, great linens. Also, we had a special "packed lunch" deal where they delivered us cold lunches to take on our journeys during the day. Great sandwiches in those lunches. We were not disappointed in any way during our stay.

Room Tip: DO NOT choose one of the older rooms. You will be disappointed.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fun_St_Paul_Nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The service, location and resort are all top knotch. We stayed at the resort for only one night, and wish it had been longer. The food in the dining room is wonderful, and the staff is very helpful. The lobby has a very rustic feel and is beautiful. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the "new part"
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJLIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights to begin our vacation. The room was just average, nicely appointed and comfortable. The location is fantastic! Close to Sylvan Lake, Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse Memorial, all the rds in Custer State Park, Rapid City and Hill City. Just getting to the lodge off Rt 16 is an adventure, beautiful scenery and driving thru the tunnel was great! We would definently stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We did not stay here but called in one evening and ate in the restaurant. To be fair we looked pretty scruffy as we had been out in the countryside all day and they did not bat an eyelid. I had the elk bolognese, which was tasty, and my partner had a steak, which was nicely cooked. A glass of wine was also very good. It was fair value, not cheap but ok. Service was attentive at first and then slipped a little, but it was getting late and the dining room was nearly empty. The bar lounge looked an inviting place to sit with a drink but we didn't linger.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank samcat392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
4.2 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 18 in Custer
35 reviews
7.6 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#5 of 13 in Keystone
52 reviews
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Hill City
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvan Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvan Lake Lodge

Address: 24572 Sd Highway 87, Custer, SD 57730-5201
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvan Lake Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This accommodation is located on Custer State Park's Sylvan Lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sylvan Lake Hotel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing