We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant visit only”
Review of Sylvan Lake Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sylvan Lake Lodge
Ranked #8 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Restaurant visit only”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We did not stay here but called in one evening and ate in the restaurant. To be fair we looked pretty scruffy as we had been out in the countryside all day and they did not bat an eyelid. I had the elk bolognese, which was tasty, and my partner had a steak, which was nicely cooked. A glass of wine was also very good. It was fair value, not cheap but ok. Service was attentive at first and then slipped a little, but it was getting late and the dining room was nearly empty. The bar lounge looked an inviting place to sit with a drink but we didn't linger.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank samcat392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    121
    74
    51
    23
See reviews for
128
139
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
hudson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2012

we were looking to stay in different lodges, as they all looked so nice online. this was our first one and what a disappointment. the room was very small, and the bathroom even smaller. was booked online and was charged the room rate. when we checked out we were given a bill for another $50.00 in BS fees. stayed in a few other lodges and they did not charge the same fees.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank joan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Custer hotels

Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The overall appearance is old and run down. The bathroom inside our room was dirty and dusty. The water pressure was pathetic and it felt like our neighbors were inside of our room.
The carpets needed to be vacuumed and it just was poorly managed. The front receptionist was friendly and cheerful, but our dining room was lackluster to say the least.

If you feel like driving out of the park to save $80, get a decent continental breakfast and hot cup of coffee that is drinkable, I would say "do it."

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I were just wandering South Dakota with plans to stay in the Black Hills. We searched for lodging as we traveled, the beauty of the internet. We found this place and booked 2 nights, when we arrived and saw the location we added another night. The first room in the old wing was terrible and we changed to 2 different rooms with differing views. The new wing or the king suite int he old wing were nice, sparse but very nice. Now we id not have great food in South Dakota but the lodge restaurant was quite good, and certainly better than going to Custer or Hill City. Grab some coffee in the morning and walk around Sylvan Lake, wow. The location is a good as it gets to get to Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Wild life, Caves or any of the Southern or Central hill cities. The lodge is dated and could use some improvements in the older areas but it is a very pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Go for the new wing with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdelott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here with another couple for 3 nights in one of the housekeeping cabins, which are suprisingly closer to Sylvan Lake than the main lodge. The cabins don't look like much from the outside. They kind of look like camping in the woods. However the insides are very nice, basic, comfortable, and quiet. They even have AC units which are very quiet, and we certainly needed ours the first day or so. The maid service was great. Even though we hung up our towels to reuse them, they replaced all of them every day anyway. Sylvan Lake was a short walk down the hill from our cabin and the main lodge was a mile drive away by road. Can't see the lake at all from the main lodge. We heard that it's a quarter mile down the steep hill from the lodge to the lake but we never found that trail. The common area and the dining room of the main lodge are beautiful, with the national park lodge style log beams and wild animal heads on the walls. They had an artist in residence for the month of September in the common area that made and sold beautifully and uniquely carved gourds. The dinners in the dining room were excellent, so much that we ate there every night and had the same meal (angus steak filet mignon). It was that good. And the lemonade here tasted better than any we have had. We think this is the nicest and
most refined of the lodges and the best location in Custer State Park. It was a welcome haven from the proliferation of tacky tourist traps in the Black Hills area. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 2windsurfandski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We chose the Lodge because of the proximity to the area trails that we planned to hike. We spent 4 nights. Overall, it was a fairly expensive disappointment. Location was nice...central to the Black Hills attractions. The room was quite small, complete with broken windows and window blinds. It was very dark...thanks to the ridiculous "eco" lighting. The bare walls decor was downright monastic. The "shower" was more like a "trickle." Cleanliness was suspect...we found quite a collection of "things" under our queen bed.
The lobby and dining room were attractive. Meals were pricey and ran the gamut from excellent to mediocre. "Uh, we're out of spoons today." Pretty much "faded glory" going on at this historic property. South Dakota would be well advised to invest a little capital in its state lodging.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToughGuy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This resort was beautiful. We had a lovely King suite with a view of the lake. The front desk was very accomodating to our needs. The common area was in the the grand lodge tradition and most impressive. Although the walk to the lake was a bit of a trek you could easily drive down. The lake was beautiful as was all of Custer State Park. We traveled easily to the Badlands, Hot Springs,Wind Cave, Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse. This was a wonderful jumping off place for all these excursions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
4.2 mi away
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
Lodge at Palmer Gulch
#11 of 12 in Hill City
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
32 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Golden Spike Inn & Suites
5.3 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvan Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvan Lake Lodge

Property: Sylvan Lake Lodge
Address: 24572 Sd Highway 87, Custer, SD 57730-5201
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Custer
Hotel Class:3 star — Sylvan Lake Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This accommodation is located on Custer State Park's Sylvan Lake. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sylvan Lake Hotel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing