We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Setting in God's Country”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Legion Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Custer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Legion Lake Resort
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Certificate of Excellence
East Coast
Level Contributor
172 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting in God's Country”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

Our first time at Custer Sate Park, but certainly not the last. We were totally unfamiliar with any of the lodging or locations and so we went with price. Knew we wanted a cabin as opposed to a room so we took the least expensive of the different types offered - the sleeping cabin.

Sleeping cabins are obviously intended for that and that alone. Ours had 2 double beds, a nightstand and a small easy chair along with one closet and bathroom. Just 2 of us so we made it work but not sure how a family of 4 would do. No place really for the suitcases, no dresser tops or table to use as a surface. Quite cramped. A couple sleeping in the same bed could use the extra bed as a work surface which is helpful.

Rooms are not cheap at the resort but the experience of being right there in close proximity to the animals and the beautiful surroundings is worth treating yourself.

Recommend going the step up from a sleeping cabin to a housekeeping cabin which gives you an extra room, more seating, and some kitchen facilities.

For what it was our cabin at Legion Lake was darling. Comfortable beds, windows that open for fresh air, nice picnic table and firepit.

This park is a must see. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Giggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legion-Lake, General Manager at Legion Lake Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2011
Thank you so much for your review on Legion Lake Lodge. We are pleased you had a pleasant stay with us in the beautiful Custer State Park. We require a high standard of Customer Service and appreciate your comments good or bad. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    40
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
59
27
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Twin Cities, MN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

Stayed in a 2 room housekeeping cabin. Has nice kitchenette and bathroom looked like it had been remodeled recently - very nice. The bedroom was awesome. Windows on 3 sides and a beautiful view. Went to sleep listening to the wind in the pines. Satellite TV and WiFi. cabins are more spaced out and private then Blue Bell. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We will be back.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MNemptynest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legion-Lake, General Manager at Legion Lake Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2011
I want to thank you for your review of Legion Lake Lodge in the beautiful Custer State Park. We want to insure our guests high quality customer service and we do appreciate each and every guests comments. Thank you and looking forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkville, IL
Level Contributor
244 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

Cabins are fine. Spoiled by staying at Blue Bell Lodge. The food was very good at the restaurant. Ice cream was best of vacation.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilaudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legion-Lake, General Manager at Legion Lake Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
One of the great things about Custer State Park Resorts is that there is something for everyone and all different kinds of accomodations sure to please. Thank you for your review and hope you visit the park again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Falls, WI
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

We selected Legion Lake based on it's proximity to many of the attractions the area has to offer. The reviews and photo's of the cabins were favorable and we were not disappointed! My wife and my two children stayed in a two bed cabin (#L24) which is located next to several other cabins of the same style. It was clean and quiet with very modern amenites (satellite, flat screen, AC). The room itself was a little tight, and we left some of our belongings in the vehicle. They could loose the chair in the room, as it just took up space and became a place to lay things. We enjoyed the fire pit just outside the cabin, the sound of the wind blowing thru the pines and the nightime view of all the stars.

The lake was nice, although we didn't take advantage of the paddle boats or fishing (forgot my poles - the general store did sell them though). It was a nice easy walk around in the morning and my kids loved climbing around on the rocks next to the lake.

I would recommend the cabins as well as the Park itself. It truely is an exceptional State Park, and competes with the National Parks, such as Yellowstone and Glacier as far as accomodations go.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kinni-kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legion-Lake, General Manager at Legion Lake Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
Thank you for your review of Legion Lake Resort. We have made some changes to the type of cabin you stayed in. One change being that we put in a queen size sofa sleeper in a couple of the cabins for more room but it still sleeps 4 and we do sell and now rent fishing equipment. Lot's of great changes at Legion Lake and it's the reviews that help us to make things better for our guests. We hold a high standard of customer service and appreciate our guests comments and ideas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2009

We had a housekeeping cabin for the two of us which was perfect but might have been a bit tight with four people. The cabin was clean and updated had direct tv and occasionally the wi-fi worked from the cabin (always worked in the lodge). Although there were no cooking supplies we headed into Custer and between the grocery store and several other places we were able to improvise enough to cook over a fire which was great fun. Ate several times in the small but good lodge restaurant and the staff could not have been more helpful in directing us to various attractions in the park. Would not hesitate to recommend this lodge to anyone - matter of fact would only consider one of the lodges in the park if traveling to this area again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marthatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legion-Lake, General Manager at Legion Lake Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
Legion Lake Resort takes pride in high quality customer service. We appreciate your review and we have upgraded our WiFi so that all cabins receive wireless internet service. Not to say it does have it's problems with our storms, etc., but we are able to get that up and running in an adequate amount of time. It's nice to now be able to read these reviews so that we know areas that we need to address if possible. Nothing like the great outdoors, the smell of the pine and a warm fire in the evenings. Thank you for staying at Legion Lake Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

We stayed in a five person housekeeping cabin at Legion Lake Resort at Custer State Park July 14 through 17th. We paid $165.00 a night and it definitely wasn't worh the money. The cabin was clean, but it was very small. The kitchenette and bathroom were nice, but the beds were very, very soft. My husband couldn't sleep on it. In fact, we left a night earlier than planned because he just couildn't sleep on those beds. We feel you could get a hotel room for less money in the town of Custer and be better off. Legion Lake Resort, however, is in a great location as far as doing things within Custer State Park. We went to Wind Cave National Park, drove the Wildlife Loop and the Needles Highway, and we did a two hour horse ride at the Blue Bell Lodge, and they were all very convenient from Legion Lake Resort.

Cuister State Park itself is gorgeous. We saw a herd of buffalo, lots of deer, and my husband even saw some wild turkeys. It was amazing seeing the buffalo up close like that! The Needles Highway is something to see, so we definitely recommend driving it. If you want to see Jewel Cave you need to make reservations at least a day ahead of time. It was sold out the day we went, so we went to Wind Cave National Park instead. You'll also need reservations a day or two ahead if you want to do the Buffalo Jeep Safari or the Chuckwagon Cookout. We had wanted to do those, but weren't able to because we didn't have advance reservations. I tried making reservations for the Chuckwagon Cookout two days ahead ot time and still was told they were sold out. So, definitely plan ahead!

I hope some of this information helps.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piegirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legion-Lake, General Manager at Legion Lake Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
Thank you for your review on Legion Lake Resort. In order for us to continue a high standard of Customer Service and products we must take the positive with the negative to insure our guests that their comments are important to us. I am sorry that your stay at Legion Lake was unsatisfactory. We will continue to do our annual inspections of each cabin and make necessary changes and/or upgrades. We hope that you will consider Custer State Park once again in the future as your family vacation destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

We enjoyed the 4 days we spent here in mid-June. The cabin and its bathroom were nicely updated and we loved the state park. The cabin was absolutely tiny though and there we no storage at all. We had 4 people so it was quite a tight fit in the cabin for us. We enjoyed the all the sights in the Black Hills and loved being away from the Keystone area, which was not a quiet area. The park and the wildlife loop was great and so were the scenic drives like Needles Highway. We only ate at the lodge once and it was a bit of a disappointment so we ate in the town of Custer for most meals.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank dianemom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legion-Lake, General Manager at Legion Lake Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
I would like to Thank you for your review of Legion Lake Resort. Because of our guests comments and even their ideas we have been able to make several positive changes since you last stayed with us. I would like to take this opportunity to invite you back and let us show you. We have several different sizes of cabins that will offer a pleasant stay. We take our guests seriously and hold a high standard of customer service. Thank you again and hope to have you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custer
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Custer
10.7 mi away
Gold Camp Cabins
Gold Camp Cabins
#14 of 17 in Custer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
7.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Custer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Spike Inn & Suites
7.3 mi away
Bavarian Inn, Black Hills
9.4 mi away
K Bar S Lodge
K Bar S Lodge
#1 of 14 in Keystone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legion Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legion Lake Resort

Property: Legion Lake Resort
Address: 12967 US Highway 16a, Custer, SD 57730-8348
Location: United States > South Dakota > Custer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Custer
Hotel Class:2 star — Legion Lake Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Custer State Park accommodation is located near Legion Lake and offers access to fishing and mountain biking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Legion Lake Hotel Custer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing